INSEAD admissions:
which test to take and which scores the school recommends

INSEAD requires a GMAT or GRE score for its MBA and Master in Management, with no GMAT minimum; the Global Executive MBA lets applicants choose among four tests, including the school’s own. This article reviews each program’s admissions requirements and the only figures the school publishes: section-by-section recommendations. The MBA and MiM profiles reviewed do not report GMAT averages. These pages were reviewed on October 15, 2026.

Article · 9 min read · 10 sources INSEAD · verified on October 15, 2026 · free, no account needed

Which tests do INSEAD programs require?

The three programs covered admit students based on online applications, where test scores are one component among several. The TAGE MAGE is not among the tests they accept. The choice is therefore between the GMAT and GRE, except for the Global Executive MBA, which also offers two other test options.

The table summarizes each program’s admissions page. Deadlines change from year to year; those listed at the end of the article are the ones shown on the pages when reviewed. This article covers only the MBA, Master in Management, and Global Executive MBA; the Tsinghua-INSEAD Executive MBA and other degrees are not included.

INSEAD programs covered and required tests, based on admissions pages reviewed October 15, 2026.
Program Entry Admissions test English test
MBA (one year, Fontainebleau and Singapore)Two intakes per year, in January and AugustGMAT (Focus or 10th Edition) or GRE (long or short version), required, no waiverTOEFL, IELTS Academic, or PTE Academic; alternatively, a degree or exchange year taught entirely in English
Master in Management (14 months, followed by a 6-month internship; Fontainebleau and Singapore)One August intake; undergraduate degree required, full-time work experience not requiredGMAT or GRE required for all applicantsTOEFL, IELTS Academic, or PTE Academic; no test required for a degree taught exclusively in English
Global Executive MBA (Asia, Middle East, Europe, Flex)2027 intake, multiple rounds by locationINSEAD Executive Test, Executive Assessment, GMAT, or GRE; no waiverCertificate required only for some non-native English-speaking applicants: PTE, TOEFL, or IELTS

GMAT or GRE: which should you choose for INSEAD?

The MBA and Master in Management accept both the GMAT and GRE, in current and still-valid prior versions. The MBA FAQ explicitly says neither test is preferred. You can take the test up to the application deadline; the score must be sent directly to INSEAD and be less than five years old on that date. Your choice therefore depends on your strengths, schedule, and other schools on your list; the article about choosing an international test outlines comparison criteria.

The MBA and Master in Management FAQs explicitly accept GMAT superscores, combining the best sections from valid attempts, while also requiring individual scores. For both the GMAT and GRE, they say the committee reviews the full score history, gives the most weight to the highest score, and may consider complementary section performance. This does not mean that an official GRE superscore is required.

For the Global Executive MBA, alternatives to the GMAT and GRE are the Executive Assessment and INSEAD Executive Test. The official INSEAD test page says it includes a written and an oral component; the multiple-choice portion has four sections of 15 questions and 30 minutes each. It is accepted only for the GEMBA and Tsinghua-INSEAD EMBA and can be taken only once. The article about the Executive Assessment for an EMBA explains the other option.

Which English test, and what is the minimum?

The English test is in addition to the admissions test, not a replacement. If English is not your native language, the pages require a valid TOEFL, IELTS Academic, or PTE Academic score; the TOEIC is not mentioned. MBA and MiM policies require tests taken less than two years before the deadline. An alternative is a degree taught in English and, for the MBA only, an exchange year with a program taught entirely in English. The Master in Management language policy, however, says an exchange alone is not enough.

The MBA and MiM language policies list recommended minimums. For the Master in Management (February 2026 document): TOEFL iBT 105 on the 0–120 scale, or 5.5 on the new January 2026 format scored from 1 to 6; PTE Academic 72; IELTS Academic 7.5. The MBA policy, revised in March 2026, gives the same recommendations, including 5.5 for the new TOEFL. These are published values for each test version, not a conversion calculated here; check the scale on your score report.

For applicants whose native language is not English, the MBA policy says their native language, together with proof of English, satisfies the first- and second-language requirements. For the Global Executive MBA, a certificate is required only from candidates who have not worked, studied, or attended school in English for an extended period. The GEMBA admissions page reviewed does not specify an English minimum, so the MBA and MiM recommendations are not attributed to it here.

Which scores does INSEAD publish?

The MBA and MiM FAQs say that there is no required GMAT minimum. They give the same section-by-section recommendations for both programs. The table includes only information INSEAD itself publishes, along with its scope and source page; the absence of class statistics applies only to the profiles reviewed. No scores are converted between scales.

The MBA and MiM profiles reviewed do not report GMAT averages, medians, or ranges. They do report, among other details, an average age of 29 for the typical MBA class and 23 for the MiM Class of 2028; the absence of scores from these two profiles does not prove that no other school publication includes them.

Score figures published by INSEAD, with their scope, scale, and time period, reviewed October 15, 2026.
Program and test What the school publishes Scale Period
MBA, GMAT FocusRecommended, not a minimum: 60th percentile in Verbal (80), 66th percentile in Quantitative (80), and Data Insights (77)GMAT Focus Edition; percentiles and section values in parentheses, no required totalMBA FAQ, no date shown
MBA, GMAT 10th EditionRecommended: at least the 70th percentile in Quantitative and Verbal; Integrated Reasoning of 6 or higherPrior test edition (10th Edition); the school does not specify a scaleMBA FAQ, no date shown
MBA, GRERecommended: 80% or higher in Verbal and Quantitative, in both long and short versionsPercentage as written by the school, without the term “percentile”MBA FAQ, no date shown
Master in Management, GMAT Focus, GMAT 10th Edition, GRESame recommendations as for the MBA, with no GMAT minimumSame scales as aboveMaster in Management FAQ, no date shown
MBA class average or rangeNot reported in the MBA profile reviewedNot applicablePages reviewed October 15, 2026
Master in Management class average or rangeNot reported in the MiM Class of 2028 profile reviewed (296 students, average age 23)Not applicableClass of 2028
Global Executive MBA, all testsNo numerical cutoff on the admissions page reviewedNot applicablePages reviewed October 15, 2026

The pitfall

Treating a recommended percentile as an admissions minimum or an old figure as current class data

A percentile ranks a performance among people who took the test. The FAQs pair their GMAT Focus percentiles with section scores of 80, 80, and 77 in parentheses; they do not give a total GMAT score to target. The absence of a required GMAT minimum does not make these recommendations a promise of admission; a strong score remains one part of the application. The article about GMAT percentiles explains how to read them.

The second source of confusion is the test edition. GMAT Focus and 10th Edition percentiles belong to different test versions, and the GRE has its own; an average found in an old brochure does not describe the current class. For English, 105 is on the 0–120 scale and 5.5 is on the 1–6 scale. Note the program, edition, and time period before interpreting a figure.

What does the application require, and what are the deadlines?

For the MBA, the application includes a résumé, copies of transcripts and degree (official originals are requested after admission), two recommendations (a third is optional), motivation essays, and a nonrefundable €250 fee. A video and written assessment through Kira Talent must be completed within 48 hours after the round deadline; shortlisted applicants then have two interviews with alumni before the admissions committee reviews the application. The school allows up to ten weeks between submission and a decision. For the August 2027 intake, rounds close on September 15, 2026, November 3, 2026, January 19, 2027, and March 9, 2027; for the January 2027 intake, they closed on March 17, April 21, June 30, and August 25, 2026.

For the Master in Management, the application includes four written responses capped at 200, 300, 300, and 300 words, two recommendations, a résumé, transcripts, and a €180 fee, followed by a Kira Talent video and written assessment due within 48 hours after the round deadline and an alumni interview; the process takes about eight weeks. For the August 2027 intake, rounds close on October 6, 2026, December 8, 2026, February 23, 2027, and April 27, 2027. The Global Executive MBA application costs €250 and includes a video interview; the INSEAD test comes after shortlisting and before interviews. If you choose the EA, GMAT, or GRE, the application checklist says to include the score with your application, so these tests do not all follow the internal test’s schedule. 2027 deadlines run from February 23 to August 3 for Asia and the Middle East, and to September 7 for Europe; the Flex format has deadlines on June 16 and October 20, 2026, then January 26 and March 9, 2027. As of October 15, 2026, its first round has closed. For the MBA and MiM, you can take the test up to the deadline for your chosen round; the article about whether to retake a test or finalize your application can help you decide.

Key takeaways

  • The MBA and Master in Management require a GMAT or GRE score, with no GMAT minimum; the Global Executive MBA also accepts the Executive Assessment and INSEAD Executive Test. The TAGE MAGE is not mentioned on any of the pages reviewed.
  • INSEAD publishes section-by-section recommendations (for example, the 60th percentile in Verbal and 66th in Quantitative and Data Insights on the GMAT Focus, and 80% in GRE Verbal and Quantitative). The MBA and MiM profiles reviewed do not report class GMAT averages.
  • For the MBA and MiM, native English speakers are exempt from the English test; other applicants submit a TOEFL, IELTS Academic, or PTE Academic taken within two years, or an accepted university credential. Recommended minimums are 105 out of 120 on the TOEFL iBT (5.5 out of 6 on the new format), 7.5 on the IELTS, and 72 on the PTE.
  • A percentile is not a total GMAT score, and the two editions use different scales; note the program, edition, and time period.
Related reading

What’s next?

At your own pace

Understand the test. Now practice.

Free account. Choose a test and keep your progress.