Wharton admissions:
which test to take and the scores it reports for each class

For its full-time MBA, The Wharton School requires either the GMAT or GRE, with no preference or minimum, and publishes class averages; the Executive MBA also accepts the Executive Assessment. This article reviews each program’s admissions requirements and the figures the school publishes, including their scope and class year. These pages were reviewed on October 15, 2026.

Article · 7 min read · 10 sources The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania and GMAC · verified on October 15, 2026 · free, no account needed

Which tests do Wharton programs require?

Wharton does not use a shared entrance-exam system: each program has its own application, and the admissions test is one component alongside essays, a recommendation, and an interview. This article covers the full-time MBA and its Moelis deferred-admission program for the 2026–2027 cycle, as well as the Wharton MBA for Executives, whose deadlines page is for the class entering in May 2027.

The MBA for Executives is intended for working professionals with at least eight years of full-time work experience. Those with fewer than eight years when the program begins may still apply through the Fellows pathway.

Wharton programs and required tests, based on official pages for the 2026–2027 cycle, reviewed October 15, 2026.
Program Entry Admissions test English test
Full-time MBA2026–2027 cycle: rounds on September 8, 2026, January 5, 2027, and March 31, 2027, at 5 p.m. Eastern TimeGMAT (old version or Focus Edition) or GRE, either one; no minimum or preferenceTOEFL iBT, PTE, IELTS, or Duolingo if prior studies were not in English; no minimum in the guide
MBA, deferred admission (Moelis Advance Access)Deadline: April 21, 2027, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time; decisions on July 1, 2027GMAT or GRE required, no preference; test-center and at-home exams acceptedDeferred-round requirements and test window in the MBA guide; waiver may be available after a degree taught in English
Wharton MBA for ExecutivesNormally eight years of experience; Fellows pathway for less; rounds on October 19, 2026, and January 19, 2027, for the May 2027 classGMAT (Focus and earlier versions), GRE, or Executive Assessment; no minimum, but the school expects above-average scoresTOEFL, PTE, IELTS, or Duolingo; no minimum found; waiver may be available after a degree from an English-language institution or four or more years working in English

GMAT or GRE: does the school prefer one?

The class page states explicitly that the MBA has no minimum GMAT or GRE score, and the school does not prefer one test over the other. The guide says both the old GMAT and Focus Edition are referred to as the GMAT. The “GMAT or GRE” article lays out the selection criteria.

The guide accepts self-reported scores when applying, with the highest score listed first; test-center and at-home exams are accepted, and the writing section (AWA) is not required. The pages reviewed do not mention the Executive Assessment or a waiver of the GMAT or GRE for the MBA. The MBA for Executives accepts the Executive Assessment, as explained in the article about that test.

Which English test, and what is the minimum?

The English test is in addition to the GMAT or GRE. For the MBA, it is required for applicants who did not attend an institution where English was the language of instruction; options are the TOEFL iBT, PTE, IELTS, and Duolingo English Test. The TOEIC is not on the list. The guide does not specify a minimum. A waiver may be granted after earning a degree at an institution where courses were taught in English; the FAQ says applicants can request a waiver in their application.

Test age matters. For Round 2, the English test must have been taken between January 5, 2025, and January 5, 2027, a two-year window, compared with five years for the GMAT and GRE (January 5, 2022, to January 5, 2027). The FAQ clearly distinguishes the TOEFL’s two-year window from the GMAT and GRE’s five-year window. Check the exact window in the guide for your round.

Which scores does Wharton publish?

This table includes only figures the school itself publishes, along with their scope and class year. “Not reported” means no figure was found on the cited pages. The MBA Class of 2027 profile gives neither a median nor a score range; Wharton says there is no minimum. We do not convert scores between scales.

The MBA profile page, dated August 12, 2025, describes the Class of 2027: 888 enrolled students from 7,613 applications. It separates the average for the old GMAT “Legacy” version, scored from 200 to 800, from the GMAT Focus average, scored from 205 to 805. The two figures describe different groups of students and are not directly comparable.

Score figures published by Wharton, from its official pages reviewed October 15, 2026.
Test Program or scope What the school publishes Edition and period
GMAT LegacyFull-time MBA, Class of 2027Average of 735Old GMAT version (200–800), called “Legacy” by the school; profile dated August 12, 2025
GMAT FocusFull-time MBA, Class of 2027Average of 676GMAT Focus (205–805); same profile
GREFull-time MBA, Class of 2027Average of 163 in Quant and 162 in VerbalGRE sections; same profile
GMAT, GREFull-time MBA, minimum and rangeNot reported; no minimum2026–2027 cycle
GMATExecutive MBAAverage of 719Edition not specified; Executive MBA Class of 2028
GMAT FocusExecutive MBAAverage of 660GMAT Focus scale, based on the school’s label; Class of 2028
Executive AssessmentExecutive MBAAverage of 155Scale not indicated; Class of 2028
GMAT, Executive AssessmentExecutive MBA admitted students, requirements pageAverages of 716 and 156, different from the profile figuresMost recent class, year not stated; edition and scale not specified

The pitfall

Treating a class average as a cutoff or mixing test editions and programs

The 735 and 676 are averages for the MBA Class of 2027 on two GMAT versions, not admissions cutoffs: the school says there is no minimum. GRE averages are reported by section and cannot be converted to GMAT scores.

Executive MBA figures do not apply to the full-time MBA—not the 719, 660, or 155. Even within the Executive MBA, the profile page (719 and 155) and requirements page (716 and 156) report different averages, and the latter does not identify a class year. GMAT Focus and old-version scores are not directly comparable, and the MBA’s 676 and Executive MBA’s 660 describe different programs. Note the program, class, and test edition before interpreting a score.

What happens after the test?

For the full-time MBA, the application includes two required essays: one with short responses of 50 and 150 words, and a second of 350 words, plus a 250-word essay for reapplicants. One recommendation is required, preferably from a current or former supervisor.

Interviews are by invitation only: a 35-minute virtual team discussion with five or six other applicants, followed by a 10-minute one-on-one conversation with a member of the admissions team. For the 2026–2027 cycle, deadlines are September 8, 2026, January 5, 2027, and March 31, 2027; decisions are released on December 17, 2026, March 31, and May 11, 2027. Work backward from your target date to schedule the test within the round’s window.

For the MBA for Executives, the application includes a 350-word essay, a recommendation from your direct supervisor, and a Zoom interview by invitation. For the May 2027 class, deadlines are October 19, 2026, and January 19, 2027, with decisions on December 18, 2026, and March 16, 2027.

Key takeaways

  • The full-time MBA requires the GMAT or GRE, with no minimum or preference; the Executive MBA also accepts the Executive Assessment.
  • The MBA Class of 2027 profile reports these averages: 735 on GMAT Legacy, 676 on GMAT Focus, and 163 Quant and 162 Verbal on the GRE. No range or minimum is published.
  • Executive MBA figures do not transfer to the full-time MBA or between GMAT editions.
  • For the full-time MBA, take the test within the round’s window: five years for the GMAT and GRE, two years for English tests. MBA deadlines for 2026–2027 are September 8, 2026, January 5, and March 31, 2027.
Related reading

What’s next?

At your own pace

Understand the test. Now practice.

Free account. Choose a test and keep your progress.