Which tests do MIT Sloan programs require?
Each MIT Sloan program has its own application page, and the admissions test is just one component alongside a letter or essays, video questions, and an interview. The table summarizes what the pages said on October 15, 2026, for the three programs beginning in 2027 that accept a GMAT or GRE.
The types of programs differ: the MBA is a two-year, full-time program, while the Master of Finance and MBAn are specialized master’s programs. The “MiM or MBA” article helps you choose a degree level, and the article about finance or management master’s programs helps you choose a field.
| Program | Entry | Admissions test | English test |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two-year, full-time MBA | 2027 entry; rounds on September 29, 2026, and January 12, 2027, at 3 p.m. Eastern Time | GMAT (Focus Edition or 10th Edition) or GRE required; no minimum; all applicants must submit a score | TOEFL and IELTS not accepted; English assessed during the interview |
| Master of Finance (MFin) | 2027 entry; single deadline on January 5, 2027, at 3 p.m. Eastern Time | GMAT or GRE optional; submitting a score is strongly encouraged if you have one; no minimum | TOEFL and IELTS not accepted; English assessed during the interview |
| Master of Business Analytics (MBAn) | 2027 entry; single deadline on January 5, 2027, at 3 p.m. Eastern Time | GMAT or GRE optional; no minimum | TOEFL and IELTS not accepted; English assessed during the interview |
GMAT or GRE: does the school prefer one?
For the MBA, the application page requires a valid GMAT score, in the Focus Edition or 10th Edition, or a GRE score by the deadline. The FAQ adds that both tests are considered equally, with no preference, and that neither has a minimum score. Your choice therefore depends on your schedule, which test suits you better, and other schools you are considering; the “GMAT or GRE: choose based on your programs and test format” article outlines those criteria.
Two practical details for the MBA: the school does not accept the Executive Assessment in place of the GMAT or GRE, and every applicant must submit a score. Self-reported scores are accepted with the application, whether from an online or test-center exam; official scores are also due by the deadline, with some flexibility if publication is delayed. Use school code 3791 for the GRE and “Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) – MIT Sloan School of Management” for the GMAT. The page lists both GMAT scales: 205–805 for the Focus version and 200–800 for the previous version.
For the Master of Finance and MBAn, submitting a test is optional, and applications without a score are reviewed as submitted, without prejudice. The Master of Finance also says the school strongly encourages applicants to submit a score if they have one as additional information. The codes differ from the MBA: the GRE code for both master’s programs is 3845. The pages reviewed do not mention the Executive Assessment for either program.
Which English test, and what is the minimum?
MIT Sloan does not accept TOEFL or IELTS scores. The MBA FAQ states this explicitly, and the pages for both master’s programs say the school does not require or accept an English test. English is assessed during the interview, so there is no English test score minimum to target, and the TOEFL iBT—which has been scored from 1 to 6 since January 21, 2026—is not part of the application.
For the MBA, the English-language policy appears in the official FAQ rather than on the application page. None of the pages reviewed mentions the TOEIC or another English test.
Which scores does MIT Sloan publish?
The school publishes class statistics in a profile chart for each program; the table summarizes the median and middle 80% range for each test. The MBA profile gives the GMAT Focus median and middle 80% ranges for GMAT Focus and GRE Quant; it does not report a figure for the GMAT 10th Edition. The profiles for both master’s programs give the GRE Quant median among admitted students who submitted a GRE, and the middle 80% ranges for Verbal and Quant.
According to the page, the MBA profile includes students in the Leaders for Global Operations program. The GMAT Focus is scored from 205 to 805, and the GRE Quant and Verbal sections from 130 to 170, so 170 is the maximum Quant score. The “GMAT and GRE scores by school: published class profiles” article compares these profiles with those of other schools.
| Test | Program or scope | What the school publishes | Edition and period |
|---|---|---|---|
| GMAT, GRE | MBA applicants | No minimum for either; no preference | 2026–2027 cycle |
| GMAT Focus Edition (205–805) | MBA Class of 2028, including LGO students | Median 675; middle 80% range: 645–715 | “MBA Class of 2028” profile |
| GMAT 10th Edition | MBA Class of 2028 | Not reported in the profile | “MBA Class of 2028” profile |
| GRE | MBA Class of 2028 | Quant: middle 80% range of 160–170; Verbal not reported | “MBA Class of 2028” profile |
| GRE | Master of Finance, Class Entering in 2026 | Quant: median 170 among admitted students who submitted GRE scores, middle 80% range 168–170; Verbal: middle 80% range 159–169 | “Class Enrolling in 2026” profile, updated September 2026 |
| GRE | MBAn Class of 2027 | Quant: median 170 among admitted students who submitted GRE scores, middle 80% range 168–170; Verbal: middle 80% range 160–167 | “Class of 2027” profile, updated September 2026 |
| GMAT | Master of Finance and MBAn | Not reported in the profiles | September 2026 profiles |
| TOEFL, IELTS | All three programs | Not accepted; no minimum | Current pages |
The pitfall
Treating a class statistic as a cutoff or mixing it with another scale or class
The school itself says it does not require a minimum score, so a class median is not a cutoff. When scores are tied, the median does not mean exactly half the class scored below it; similarly, the middle 80% range does not establish that exactly 10% of scores fall below the lower bound. A GRE score cannot be converted into a GMAT score, and the GRE Quant median of 170 for the two master’s programs tells you nothing about admitted students who did not submit a GRE.
The three profiles describe classes that have already enrolled, not the 2027 entering class discussed here: “Class of 2028” for the MBA, including LGO students; “Class of 2027” for the MBAn; and “Class Enrolling in 2026” for the Master of Finance. Keep the GMAT scales of 205–805 and 200–800 separate, as the school presents them. Each figure applies to the named test, not indiscriminately to all students. For the two master’s programs, the profile does not say how many admitted students submitted a GRE, so do not read the median as applying to the entire class.
What happens after the test?
For the MBA, the application includes a cover letter of up to 300 words, excluding the address and salutation, with one or more professional examples, and two video questions: the first is up to 90 seconds, recorded in one take, facing the camera, without reading a prepared script; the second is an open-ended question drawn at random. Interviews are by invitation only, by video conference, and held in Eastern Time. The school reviews applications after each of the two rounds: Round 1 closed September 29, 2026, with decisions in mid-December; Round 2 closes January 12, 2027, with decisions in early April. All materials are due by 3 p.m. Eastern Time. The application fee is USD 250.
The Master of Finance requires two video responses, three written responses of up to 200 words, and an interview by invitation; decisions are released in March 2027. The MBAn requires an essay of up to 500 words explaining why you are applying, two video questions, and an interview by invitation with behavioral and technical questions. The application fee is USD 150 for each master’s program. All three programs waive the fee for current Peace Corps members and U.S. veterans or active-duty service members. Work backward from January 5, or January 12 for the MBA, to take the test, allow time for a possible retake, and send official scores.
According to the MBA FAQ, about 42% of the incoming class came from outside the United States “last year”; the school does not identify which class, so this is a rough estimate, not a class-profile statistic.
Key takeaways
- The MIT Sloan MBA requires the GMAT or GRE, with no preference or minimum, and does not accept the Executive Assessment; the Master of Finance and MBAn make the test optional.
- TOEFL and IELTS are not accepted; English is assessed during the interview, which is by invitation.
- The MBA Class of 2028 reports a GMAT Focus median of 675 and a middle 80% range of 645–715; the master’s programs report a GRE Quant median of 170 among admitted students who submitted a score. These are reference points, not minimums.
- Deadlines for 2027 entry, at 3 p.m. Eastern Time: September 29, 2026, and January 12, 2027, for the MBA; January 5, 2027, for both master’s programs.