What do 20 schools publish, program by program?
The table starts with HEC Paris and ESSEC, then covers international schools, with U.S. schools last. This is an editorial order; it says nothing about a school’s requirements or ranking. A school appears on multiple rows when it publishes multiple figures, or on one row when it publishes none.
The “Published figure” column includes only what the school itself reports, with its scope. An average the school says to target is still an average, never a minimum. “Not published” means no figure appears on the pages reviewed; it says nothing about the test’s weight in the application. When a school does not specify the GMAT edition, the “Scale” column says “edition not specified”; we do not infer it from the score size or convert between scales.
Older brochures are not used to describe a current class. When an official page still shows an earlier cohort, such as LSE’s 2022/23 MSc Marketing class, the table keeps that period; the figure remains historical.
| School | Program | Test | Published figure | Class or period | Scale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HEC Paris | Master in Management | GMAT Focus | Target average: 645 or 655; no minimum | Master’s FAQ, undated page; class not specified | GMAT Focus (current scale, 205–805) |
| HEC Paris | Master in Management | GRE | Target average: 320; no minimum | Master’s FAQ, undated page; class not specified | Total; scale not specified by the school |
| HEC Paris | MBA | GMAT | Average 635, equivalent to 690 on the older edition according to the school; no minimum | Current class, year not specified | Current edition for 635; older edition for 690 |
| ESSEC Business School | Global MBA | GMAT Focus | Preferred minimum of 585; average of 615 in GMAT Focus equivalent | September 2026–June 2027 application cycle for 585; current class (“this year’s class”), year unspecified, for 615 | GMAT Focus (current scale); for 615, the school says “GMAT Focus equivalent” |
| INSEAD | MBA and Master in Management | GMAT, Focus edition | Recommendation, not a minimum or average: 60th percentile in Verbal Reasoning (80), 66th in Quantitative Reasoning (80) and Data Insights (77) | Current FAQ page, undated | Percentiles and section scores in parentheses; no total required |
| INSEAD | MBA and Master in Management | GMAT, 10th Edition | Recommendation: 70th percentile or higher in Quantitative and Verbal Reasoning; 6 or higher in Integrated Reasoning | Current FAQ page, undated | Older edition, as labeled by the school |
| INSEAD | MBA and Master in Management | GRE | Recommendation: “80%” or higher in Verbal and Quantitative Reasoning | Current FAQ page, undated | Percentage as printed by the school; not a score out of 170 |
| INSEAD | MBA, Master in Management, Global Executive MBA | GMAT, GRE | Class average or range: not published | Pages reviewed October 5, 2026 | Not applicable |
| London Business School | MBA | GMAT | Average about 645; typical range 555–805; minimum accepted “typically” around 555 (FAQ) | Current pages; class year not specified | Edition not specified |
| London Business School | MBA | GRE | Preference for above 160 in Verbal and Quantitative; neither an average nor a minimum | Current page | GRE sections; scale not specified by the school |
| London Business School | Masters in Management and Masters in Financial Analysis | GMAT | No minimum; 555 or higher recommended | August 2027 entry | Edition not specified |
| London Business School | Executive MBA | GMAT, Executive Assessment, GRE | No minimum; class average or range: not published | Page reviewed October 5, 2026 | Not applicable |
| Cambridge Judge Business School | MBA | GMAT | Average of 690 for a class of 222 students | Class of 2026, profile page and October 2, 2026 article | Edition not specified |
| Cambridge Judge Business School | MBA | GMAT | Average about 635 on the current format; average about 710 on the previous format | Application page and FAQ; period not specified | Current and previous formats, as named by the school |
| Cambridge Judge Business School | MBA | GRE | Average of 75% in Verbal and 62% in Quantitative | Application page and FAQ; period not specified | Unit and scale not specified by the school |
| Cambridge Judge Business School | MBA | GMAT, GRE | No minimum specified | FAQ, current page | Not applicable |
| Cambridge Judge Business School | Master of Finance, MPhil in Management, Executive MBA | GMAT, GRE, Executive Assessment | No aggregate test score found in the cited MFin/EMBA profiles or MPhil page | 2027 entry; Global EMBA 2028 | Not applicable |
| London School of Economics | MSc Economics (one or two years) | GRE | At least 164 in Quant is “generally” expected; not a minimum | 2027/28 entry | Quantitative section; scale not specified on the page |
| London School of Economics | MSc Econometrics and Mathematical Economics | GRE | At least 166 in Quant is “generally” expected | 2027/28 entry | Quantitative section; scale not specified on the page |
| London School of Economics | MSc Marketing | GMAT | Median 720 | 2022/23 cohort | Edition not specified |
| London School of Economics | Master’s in Management, MSc Management, Strategy and Economic Analysis, MSc Finance, and other finance MSc programs | GMAT, GRE | Not published on the pages cited | LSE pages reviewed October 15, 2026 | Not applicable |
| IESE Business School | MBA | GMAT | “Acceptance score range” of 545–715; 580–750 for the older version | Class not specified; school does not define what the range covers | Current GMAT version for 545–715; older version for 580–750, according to the school |
| IESE Business School | Executive MBA | GMAT | Accepted score: above 500 for GMAT Classic; above 495 for GMAT Focus | 2027 programs | GMAT Classic (200–800) and GMAT Focus (205–805), as named by the school |
| IESE Business School | Executive MBA | Executive Assessment, GRE, IESE Admission Test | Accepted score: 150 on the Executive Assessment; above 300 on the GRE; above 550 on the IESE test | 2027 programs | Scales not specified by the school |
| IESE Business School | Master in Management | GMAT, GRE | Not published | Pages reviewed October 5, 2026 | Not applicable |
| IE University | Master’s programs (general policy; some programs differ) | GMAT Focus | 605 or higher recommended; no minimum required | 2026–2027 admissions policy | GMAT Focus (205–805) |
| IE University | Master’s programs (general policy; some programs differ) | GRE | 310 or higher recommended; no minimum required | 2026–2027 admissions policy | Scale not specified by the school |
| IE Business School | International MBA | ieGAT, GMAT, GRE, Executive Assessment (Admissions Test step) | No average or median found on the admissions page cited | English page reviewed October 15, 2026; FAQ still lists only the first three tests | Not applicable |
| Esade Business School | Full-Time MBA | GMAT | Average about 615 on the current edition; about 660 on the previous edition | Recent years; class not specified | Current edition (205–805) and previous edition (200–800), as named by the school |
| Esade Business School | Full-Time MBA, MSc in Finance, and MSc in International Management | GRE | Same average shown as “160/162” | Recent years; class not specified; pages reviewed October 15, 2026 | Breakdown by section not specified; do not read the slash as “or” |
| Esade Business School | MSc in Finance, MSc in International Management | GMAT | Same wording as for the MBA: average about 615 on the current edition, about 660 on the previous edition | Recent years; class not specified | Editions as named by the school |
| Università Bocconi | MSc programs, including MSc in Finance and MSc in International Management (excluding IM Asia and IM Concentration, joint degrees with higher thresholds) | GMAT | Minimum for consideration for admission: 500 out of 800 on the GMAT Exam, 485 out of 805 on the GMAT Focus Edition | Current page; entry year not specified | Older scale 200–800 and current scale 205–805, as named by the school |
| Università Bocconi | MSc programs, including MSc in Finance and MSc in International Management (excluding IM Asia and IM Concentration, joint degrees with higher thresholds) | GRE | Combined Verbal and Quantitative score according to the school’s conversion table; no section minimum | Current page; entry year not specified | Sections scored from 130 to 170 |
| SDA Bocconi | Full-Time MBA | GMAT, GRE, Executive Assessment | No admissions minimum; no class score in the cited 2025/26 profile | 2025/26 profile; Admissions accordion reviewed October 15, 2026 | No scale inferred |
| University of St.Gallen | MBA | GMAT, GRE, Executive Assessment | Not published: the MBA Class of 2024 profile contains no scores | Class of 2024 (“Class of 2024”) | Not applicable |
| Harvard Business School | MBA | GMAT (labeled “GMAT”) | Median 685 (Verbal 86, Quantitative 84); middle 80%: 645–735 | Class of 2027, students who submitted this GMAT (34% of the class) | Current GMAT: 205–805, scale defined by GMAC |
| Harvard Business School | MBA | GMAT 10th Edition | Median 730 (Verbal 42, Quantitative 49); middle 80%: 690–770 | Class of 2027, students who submitted this GMAT (28% of the class) | GMAT 10th Edition: 200–800, scale defined by GMAC |
| Harvard Business School | MBA | GRE | Median 164 in Verbal and 164 in Quantitative; middle 80%: 158–168 Verbal and 159–169 Quantitative | Class of 2027, students who submitted the GRE (44% of the class) | Sections as reported |
| Harvard Business School | MBA | GMAT, GRE | No minimum score to apply; no test preference | Class of 2027 profile | Not applicable |
| The Wharton School | MBA | GMAT Legacy, GMAT Focus | Average 735 on GMAT Legacy; average 676 on GMAT Focus | Class of 2027, profile dated August 12, 2025 | Older version (200–800) and GMAT Focus (205–805), as named by the school |
| The Wharton School | MBA | GRE | Average 163 in Quantitative and 162 in Verbal | Class of 2027 | GRE sections |
| The Wharton School | Executive MBA | GMAT, GMAT Focus | Average 719 on GMAT; average 660 on GMAT Focus | Class of 2028 | 719: edition not specified; 660: GMAT Focus, according to the school’s label |
| The Wharton School | Executive MBA | Executive Assessment | Average of 155 | Class of 2028 | Scale not listed on the page |
| Stanford Graduate School of Business | MBA | GMAT, GMAT Focus | Average 738 on GMAT (range shown: 540–780); average 689 on GMAT Focus (615–785) | Class of 2027, data as of September 17, 2025; 58% of the class submitted a GMAT | GMAT 200–800 and GMAT Focus 205–805, as reported by the school |
| Stanford Graduate School of Business | MBA | GRE | Average 164 in Verbal (range shown: 150–170) and 164 in Quantitative (151–170) | Class of 2027; 44% of the class submitted a GRE | Sections scored from 130 to 170 |
| Stanford Graduate School of Business | MSx | GMAT, GMAT Focus, Executive Assessment, GRE | Medians: 740 on GMAT, 665 on GMAT Focus, 157 on Executive Assessment, 164 GRE Verbal, and 167 GRE Quantitative | Class of 2026 | Scales shown by the school: 200–800, 205–805, 100–200, 130–170 |
| MIT Sloan | MBA | GMAT Focus | Median 675; middle 80%: 645–715 | Class of 2028, including LGO students | GMAT Focus (current scale) |
| MIT Sloan | MBA | GRE | Middle 80%: 160–170 in Quantitative; Verbal not published | Class of 2028 | Quantitative section |
| MIT Sloan | Master of Finance and Master of Business Analytics | GRE | Median 170 in Quantitative among admitted students who submitted a GRE; middle 80%: 168–170 Quantitative, and 159–169 Verbal (Master of Finance) or 160–167 (MBAn) | Class entering in 2026 (Master of Finance) and Class of 2027 (MBAn), profiles updated September 2026 | GRE sections |
| Columbia Business School | MBA | GMAT 10th Edition, GMAT Focus | Average 734 on GMAT 10th Edition (range shown: 610–780); average 690 on GMAT Focus (615–805) | Class entering in 2025, January and August entering classes (982 enrolled students) | 10th Edition and Focus Edition, as named by the school |
| Columbia Business School | MBA | GRE | Average 163 in Verbal and 163 in Quantitative (range shown: 150–170 for each) | Class entering in 2025 | GRE sections |
| Chicago Booth | Full-Time MBA | GMAT, GMAT Focus | GMAT: average 736, median 740, middle 80%: 690–770 (14% of the class); GMAT Focus: average 670, median 675, middle 80%: 615–725 (39%) | Class of 2027 | GMAT 200–800 and GMAT Focus 205–805, according to the school’s footnote |
| Chicago Booth | Full-Time MBA | GRE | Average 163 in Quantitative (middle 80%: 156–169) and 161 in Verbal (155–167); 42% of the class | Class of 2027 | Sections scored from 130 to 170, according to the school’s footnote |
| Kellogg School of Management | Two-Year MBA | GMAT Focus, GMAT Legacy | Average 687 on GMAT Focus; average 733 on GMAT Legacy | Class of 2027 (534 students); charts labeled “Middle 80% range” | GMAT Focus (current version) and GMAT Legacy (older version), as named by the school |
| Kellogg School of Management | Two-Year MBA | GRE | Average 162 in Verbal and 162 in Quantitative | Class of 2027; charts labeled “Middle 80% range” | GRE sections |
| Kellogg School of Management | One-Year MBA, MMM, and Master in Management | GMAT, GRE | No aggregate test figures found in the HTML or data for the three pages cited | Pages reviewed October 15, 2026; Master in Management profile: Class of 2026 | Not applicable |
| UC Berkeley Haas School of Business | Full-Time MBA | GMAT (labeled “GMAT”) | Median: 730; middle 80%: 669–767 | Class of 2027 | Edition not specified |
| UC Berkeley Haas School of Business | Full-Time MBA | GMAT Focus | Median: 675; middle 80%: 637–725 | Class of 2027 | GMAT Focus (current scale); range not printed on the page |
| UC Berkeley Haas School of Business | Full-Time MBA | GRE | Median: 161 Verbal and 162 Quantitative; middle 80%: 155–167 Verbal and 155–169 Quantitative | Class of 2027 | Sections as printed; scale not specified on the page |
| UC Berkeley Haas School of Business | Master of Financial Engineering | GRE | Average percentile: 91% Quantitative and 79% Verbal; these are not scores | Class entering in 2025 | Percentiles; no score conversion in this table |
| UC Berkeley Haas School of Business | Master of Financial Engineering | GMAT | Not published: the profile contains no GMAT figures | Class entering in 2025 | Not applicable |
| Yale School of Management | MBA | GMAT (labeled “GMAT”) | Median: 740; middle 80%: 691–760 | Class of 2027 | Edition not specified |
| Yale School of Management | MBA | GMAT Focus | Median: 675; middle 80%: 638–715 | Class of 2027 | GMAT Focus (current scale); range not printed on the page |
| Yale School of Management | MBA | GRE | Median: 163 Verbal and 166 Quantitative; middle 80%: 158–169 Verbal and 160–170 Quantitative; 47% of incoming students submitted GRE scores | Class of 2027 | Sections as printed; scale not specified on the page |
| Yale School of Management | MMS in Asset Management | GRE | Middle 80%: 165–170 Quantitative and 157.5–169 Verbal; 68% of students submitted GRE scores | Class of 2026 | Sections as printed; scale not specified on the page |
| Yale School of Management | MMS in Asset Management | GMAT | Middle 80%: 647–715 (Focus edition); 32% of students submitted GMAT scores; of the GMAT scores recorded by the school, 38% are from the pre-2024 edition, with a median of 735 | Class of 2026 | Focus edition range; pre-2024 edition median of 735, according to the school |
| Yale School of Management | Master of Advanced Management and MMS in Global Business & Society | GMAT, GRE | Not published: the school says it does not calculate an average and that no minimum is required | Program FAQs, current page | Not applicable |
What does a class profile describe, and what does it leave out?
A class profile describes students in a given year after admissions decisions have been made: their number, age, experience, and, at some schools, a summary of their test scores. It may cover only part of the class. Harvard, for example, separates students who submitted GMAT scores (34% of the class), GMAT 10th Edition scores (28%), and GRE scores (44%), noting that some submitted more than one test. Each figure applies to its own group, not the entire class.
It does not describe what applicants need to apply, how much the test matters in an application, or what happened to applicants with similar scores who were not admitted. A profile tells you who enrolled, not what determined the outcome. Profiles also vary by school and program: those cited here are for the Class of 2027 for the Harvard, Stanford, Chicago Booth, Kellogg, Berkeley Haas, Yale, and Wharton MBAs; the Class of 2028 for the MIT Sloan MBA and Wharton Executive MBA; and the class that entered in 2025 for Columbia.
The terms schools use refer to different things. The table preserves each school’s wording; here is what those terms mean.
- Average: the sum of scores divided by the number of scores. A few very high or very low scores can shift it (Stanford MBA, Columbia, Chicago Booth, Wharton, Kellogg, Cambridge, Esade, LBS, HEC).
- Median: at least half of the scores are at or below this value, and at least half are at or above it. Multiple students can have the median score (Harvard, MIT Sloan, Chicago Booth, Stanford MSx, Berkeley Haas, Yale, and LSE MSc Marketing).
- Middle 80%: a range describing the center of the distribution (Harvard, MIT Sloan, Chicago Booth, Berkeley Haas, Yale, and Stanford MSx). Ties at the endpoints do not establish that exactly 10% of scores fall strictly below or above them. Stanford MBA and Columbia show a range without saying what it covers. Kellogg’s charts are labeled “Middle 80% range” and describe the middle 80%; their numeric endpoints are not reproduced here.
- Recommendation or expectation: what the school advises applicants to aim for, using wording such as “typically” or “recommended” (INSEAD, IE, LSE, and LBS for the MiM). Several of these schools also state that there is no minimum.
- Threshold: a floor appears only for Bocconi’s MSc programs (500 or 485 to be considered), the IESE Executive MBA, the ESSEC Global MBA (a “preferred” minimum, with possible exceptions), and, “typically,” the London Business School MBA.
Why can’t figures from the old and new scales be combined?
Two GMAT versions appear on schools’ pages: the old one, scored from 200 to 800, which schools call “10th Edition,” “Exam,” “Classic,” or “previous format,” and the current one, scored from 205 to 805, called “Focus.” The same number does not represent the same level on both scales. Several schools report their own figures for both versions: HEC lists 635 and 690 for its MBA, Cambridge about 635 and about 710, Esade about 615 and about 660, and IESE a range of 545–715 versus 580–750. Stanford, Columbia, Chicago Booth, and Kellogg instead show one row per version: each describes the students who submitted that version, not the same group expressed twice.
The gap between the two versions of a given figure is not constant: it ranges from 5 to 75 points depending on the school and measure (5 points for the IESE Executive MBA thresholds, 75 for Cambridge averages). No simple conversion formula captures it. To place an old score on the current scale, use GMAC’s official concordance table; the article “A Good GMAT Score: Read Your Percentile, Not a Cutoff” explains how to read it.
Several schools do not say which version they mean: London Business School; Wharton for its Executive MBA; Cambridge for its 690 average; LSE for its MSc Marketing; and Berkeley Haas and Yale for their “GMAT” rows (Berkeley Haas and Yale show a separate “GMAT Focus” row). The table labels these rows “edition not specified.” HBS explicitly distinguishes “GMAT” from “GMAT 10th Edition”; GMAC defines their scales as 205–805 and 200–800, respectively. Do not guess the edition from the size of the number: a 690 could come from either.
GRE Verbal Reasoning and Quantitative Reasoning are each scored from 130 to 170. The “75%” or “80%” figures printed by Cambridge and INSEAD are therefore not scores out of 170. The table preserves the schools’ wording and does not infer a score from it.
The pitfall
Mistaking a median or average for a cutoff
A median of 685, like the one Harvard publishes for its “GMAT” group, means that at least half of the scores are at or below 685; it is not a floor. The accompanying range of 645–735 describes the group’s middle 80%. An average or median summarizes admitted students; it does not measure what it took to be admitted.
The schools say so themselves. Harvard states that there is no minimum to apply; Cambridge says it does not specify a minimum score; LSE says it does not require a specific score for its MSc Economics; and HEC’s Master in Management FAQ says there is no minimum, while citing averages to aim for. INSEAD adds that a high score does not guarantee admission and a score below the average does not rule out an applicant; none of the figures in the table says otherwise.
The few floors (Bocconi and IESE for the Executive MBA) make it possible to apply or be considered; they do not say who will be admitted. None of the figures in this article predicts an admission outcome.
How should you read a school’s figure before comparing it with your score?
Before comparing a figure with your result, run through the same checks, one table row at a time.
- The program: an MBA, Master in Management, MSc, or Executive MBA at the same school each has its own profile and rules.
- The test: a GMAT figure does not apply to the GRE, or vice versa; some schools publish figures for only one test.
- The edition: current or old GMAT? If the school does not say, do not infer it.
- What the figure represents: an average, median, range, recommendation, or minimum should not be read in the same way.
- The class and date: an old class profile or one without a year tells you nothing about the application cycle you are targeting.
- The school’s page: if it is silent or unclear, ask the admissions office, the only source that can answer for your application.
Where can you find each school’s rules?
Each school’s admissions page is the authoritative source: it explains which tests are accepted for which program, which deadlines apply, and what the school publishes. Links to the pages consulted for this article appear at the end. A figure may change when a new class profile is published, so check the school’s page again before applying.
The article “GMAT or GRE: Choose Based on Your Programs and the Format” walks through how to choose between the GMAT and GRE; to put your own result in context, use your percentile and the rules for your target program.
Key takeaways
- Schools mainly publish a class profile (average, median, or range) or a recommendation; Harvard, Cambridge, HEC, INSEAD, and IE University state that there is no minimum.
- A median or average describes admitted students, not what it took to be admitted; do not read it as a cutoff.
- Do not combine figures from the old scale (200–800) and the current scale (205–805): the gap varies by school, and several schools do not specify the edition.
- A “not published” cell means no figure was found on the cited pages for that program; check with the school for current information.