IE Business School admissions:
which test to take and what scores the school publishes

At IE Business School, the Master in Management and International MBA accept the GMAT, GRE, or ieGAT; the International MBA admissions page also lists the Executive Assessment. The Master in Finance accepts the GMAT, GRE, CFA, or CAIA, but not the ieGAT; the general policy recommends 605 on the GMAT Focus and 310 on the GRE, with no required minimum. The Master in Finance has separate recommendations. The figures below come from the cited official materials; a recommended score does not guarantee admission.

Article · 8 min read · 8 sources IE University, IE Business School, IE Business School (Spanish), Uncover IE and IE University (work experience) · verified on October 5, 2026 · free, no account needed

Which IE programs require a test, and which one?

IE Business School is the business school of IE University in Madrid. Its master’s programs follow a common admissions policy published for 2026–2027. No French admissions test is mentioned: applicants choose between the GMAT, GRE, and the school’s test, with CFA and CAIA also accepted for the Master in Finance. The table distinguishes the general policy from individual program pages.

The policy says some programs may waive the test requirement or require a different test; IE alumni are generally exempt. Your program page therefore takes precedence. The full-time International MBA has its own admissions page: its “Admissions test” step lists the ieGAT, GMAT, GRE, or Executive Assessment. The FAQ on that same page still lists only the first three; confirm the EA option if you plan to use it. Admissions are rolling.

Tests required for three IE Business School programs: 2026–2027 master’s policy and official program pages.
Program What the school says about applicants Admissions test English test
Master in ManagementUniversity degree or equivalent, according to the general master’s criteriaGMAT, GRE, or ieGAT, applicant’s choiceGeneral policy: TOEFL 5 after January 21, 2026 (100 on the old scale), IELTS 7, Duolingo 130, Cambridge C1 or C2
Master in FinanceMaster’s program named in the policyA standardized test is required: GRE, GMAT, CFA, or CAIA; ieGAT is not acceptedSame minimums as other master’s programs
International MBA (full-time)At least three years of work experience; average age 30 and approximately six years of experienceieGAT, GMAT, GRE, or Executive Assessment at the Admissions Test step; FAQ still limited to the first threeTOEFL 100 (105 recommended) on the old scale; 5 for tests taken after January 21, 2026, according to the FAQ; IELTS 7 (7.5 recommended), Duolingo 130, or Cambridge Advanced

GMAT, GRE, or ieGAT: which should you take?

The policy uses a two-step approach: applicants may submit standardized scores such as the GMAT Focus or GRE if they have them; otherwise, they take ieGAT, the school’s admissions test. These scores are optional if applicants take the ieGAT, but may strengthen their profile. The school does not say which of the three it prefers and states that no single factor, including grades or tests, is decisive on its own. Choose based on your timeline, working language, and other target schools; the article on choosing an international test outlines these factors.

The Master in Finance is an exception: a standardized test such as the GRE, GMAT, CFA, or CAIA is required, and ieGAT is not accepted. The policy does not specify the required level; the official article “The Master in Finance: Your admission process questions answered” cites CFA I and CAIA I. This is program-specific and should be confirmed for the year you plan to enroll. If you are deciding between this program and the Master in Management, start with the article comparing their requirements.

The policy names the GMAT Focus, the current edition of the test, but says nothing about score validity. The article on what GRE score to target when no cutoff is published explains how to interpret the absence of a figure.

Which English test, and what is the minimum?

Applicants whose first language is not English, or whose bachelor’s degree was not taught entirely in English, must demonstrate proficiency. The policy sets minimums by test: TOEFL 100, with 105 recommended; IELTS 7, with 7.5 recommended; Duolingo English Test 130; and Cambridge C1 Advanced (CAE) or C2 Proficiency (CPE). For TOEFL tests taken after January 21, 2026, it sets a minimum of 5 and recommends 5.5 on the new 1–6 scale; 100 refers to the old 0–120 scale.

TOEIC is not listed as proof of English in the policy. If you have a TOEIC score, check whether your program accepts it; the article comparing TOEIC and TOEFL can help you choose. These minimums apply to master’s programs; do not assume they apply to an MBA unless its page says so.

The policy allows a waiver: applicants who have lived and worked for an extended period, at least two years, in a fully English-speaking environment may be exempt, subject to approval by the admissions committee.

What scores does IE publish?

The policy states that no minimum score is required, but recommends at least 605 on the GMAT Focus and 310 on the GRE. These are recommended thresholds, not averages; they do not describe the class. The GMAT Focus uses the current 205–805 scale; the school does not specify the scale for the GRE score of 310.

For the Master in Finance, the official article “The Master in Finance: Your admission process questions answered” recommends 605–755 on the GMAT Focus and 322–340 on the GRE. It does not tie these recommendations to a specific cycle, so confirm them for the year you plan to enroll. They are neither required minimums nor class averages. The materials reviewed do not confirm a current GMAT or GRE average or median for the three programs; we do not substitute a figure from an old brochure.

Scores published by IE: distinguishing general policy, program recommendations, and class averages.
Test Program and scope What the school publishes Period and page
GMAT FocusUniversity master’s programs, general policy605 or higher recommended, none required; 205–805 scale2026–2027; master’s admissions policy
GREUniversity master’s programs, general policy310 or higher recommended, none required; scale not specified2026–2027; master’s admissions policy
GMAT Focus, GREMaster in FinanceRecommended ranges: GMAT 605–755; GRE 322–340Official article “Your admission process questions answered”; cycle not specified
GMAT, GREMaster in ManagementCurrent average or median not confirmed in the sources reviewed2026–2027 policy and program admissions page
GMAT, GRE, ieGATInternational MBATest average not confirmed; program overview reports an average age of 30 and approximately six years of work experienceInternational MBA overview and admissions pages
ieGATRelevant master’s programsIE states that ieGAT does not provide a numeric scoreOfficial “Master’s admissions test” page

The pitfall

Treating a recommended threshold as a minimum, or applying the master’s rule to the MBA

The GMAT Focus score of 605 and GRE score of 310 are recommendations for master’s programs in general; the policy says there is no minimum. Under the policy, a lower score is not disqualifying, and a 605 is no guarantee.

A second point of confusion: the “GMAT Focus or GRE, otherwise ieGAT” rule does not apply to the Master in Finance, which does not accept ieGAT, and general recommendations should not automatically be applied to the International MBA. Identify your program, test, and score scale before interpreting any figure.

What happens after you submit your application?

Applications are submitted online and include a form (academic background, extracurricular activities, photo, passport copy), a Kira assessment with three questions answered on the spot, a one-page résumé, official transcripts, two references (not family members, friends, or direct reports), an essay, video or presentation, proof of English proficiency, and a nonrefundable application fee, which may be waived in exceptional cases. Applicants still completing their bachelor’s degree must submit the final diploma once received.

An interview may be offered, in person or online, using the STAR method; the committee may also waive it. Under the 2026–2027 policy, decisions generally arrive by email within one to three weeks after the application is complete, and the committee may decide before all steps are finished.

Admissions are rolling, and timelines may vary by program: applications generally close five days before the program starts, and the school encourages early applications because places are limited. Accommodations for the admissions test and online assessment are available for documented special educational needs. Check each program page for its start dates.

Key takeaways

  • IE University master’s programs accept a GMAT Focus or GRE if you have one; otherwise, take the ieGAT. The Master in Finance requires the GRE, GMAT, CFA, or CAIA and does not accept ieGAT.
  • For management tests, the policy sets no required minimum; it recommends 605 or higher on the GMAT Focus and 310 or higher on the GRE. The Master in Finance also publishes its own recommended ranges; no current average is confirmed here.
  • The International MBA also lists the Executive Assessment in its Admissions Test step, although its FAQ still names only ieGAT, GMAT, and GRE. For English, it lists TOEFL 100 on the old scale or 5 after January 21, 2026, IELTS 7, and Duolingo 130, with waivers available. No current test average is confirmed here.
  • Master’s English requirements: TOEFL iBT 5 after January 21, 2026 (100 on the old scale), IELTS 7, Duolingo 130, Cambridge C1 or C2; TOEIC is not listed in the policy.
Related reading

What’s next?

At your own pace

Understand the test. Now practice.

Free account. Choose a test and keep your progress.