What do schools publish for each admission route?
The table order is editorial and does not imply anything about a school’s requirements. It includes admissions based on prior qualifications (AST), international Master in Management (MiM) admissions, Master of Science (MSc) programs, and university master’s programs; several international routes require a degree earned outside France. MBA programs are excluded.
The TOEIC Listening and Reading measures listening and reading comprehension; four-skill versions also assess speaking and writing. The “Published minimum” column reports figures from the official documents reviewed. “Not found” limits our finding to those documents: it does not mean the score is irrelevant or that no threshold exists elsewhere. Scores are shown on their original scales, without conversion; scores for other tests are omitted.
| School and route | TOEIC version | Published minimum | Other tests | Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ESSEC · MiM Grande École, admission with degree | Listening and Reading; online versions accepted | 850 | IELTS Academic, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge B2 First | Test taken less than 2 years before the round deadline |
| ESSEC · Master in Finance | Listening and Reading | 850 | IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge B2 First | Test taken less than 2 years before the round deadline |
| ESCP · MiM, Direct Admissions (bac+3) | Listening and Reading | 900 | IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge FCE | 2027 intake; valid for 2 years |
| EDHEC · Grande École Program, AST 2 | Institutional online test accepted; the “TOEIC en autonomie” delivery format and TOEIC Bridge not accepted | 850 | TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge, Duolingo | Tests taken between January 1, 2026 and March 31, 2027 |
| EDHEC · MiM and MSc, applicants with a degree earned outside France | Listening and Reading | 850 | TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Cambridge, PTE Academic | 2027 entry |
| emlyon · Grande École Program, Year 2 (AST) | Listening and Reading | Not found on the page reviewed | IELTS, TOEFL iBT | Scores obtained between January 1, 2025, and November 30, 2026 |
| emlyon · MiM, Direct International Admission | Not specified | Not found; CEFR C1 recommended | IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge | Scores valid for 2 years |
| SKEMA · Grande École Program, AST | Two-hour or one-hour adaptive Listening and Reading, or 4SKILLS; Speaking and Writing not accepted | No disqualifying score (FAQ) | TOEFL, IELTS, iCIMS, Duolingo, Cambridge | 2027 sessions; tests taken since January 1, 2025 |
| Grenoble EM · Grande École Program, AST | Listening and Reading | Not found on the page reviewed | TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo | 2026 admission cycle |
| Grenoble EM · MiM, international admission to Year 1, French Track | Not specified | 700 | TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Duolingo, Cambridge (English Track tests also accepted) | September 2026 intake |
| Audencia · Grande École Program, three-year degree (AST 2) | Listening and Reading | Not found on the page reviewed | Cambridge, IELTS, TOEFL iBT | Header: 2027 intake; admission details still partly dated 2026 |
| Audencia · Master in Management Grande École (English admissions page, common criteria) | Not specified | 655 | TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Cambridge B2 First | September 1, 2027 intake |
| HEC Paris · MiM, direct application | All four sections scored; Listening and Reading alone is not sufficient | Not found in the FAQ’s language section; C1 required | TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge | Valid for 5 years |
| KEDGE · MiM Grande École, international degree admission | Not specified | Above 785 | TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo, PTE | Year not specified |
| ECRICOME · Tremplin Bac+3 2027 (NEOMA, KEDGE, EM Strasbourg) | Listening and Reading or 4-Skills | Not found on the 2027 page; the 2026 document explicitly says no minimum is required | IELTS, TOEFL, Duolingo, Cambridge First B2, LTE | 2027 page; valid for 2 years from the test date |
| NEOMA · MiM, international admission | 4-skills | Ask admissions for the required scores | TOEFL iBT, IELTS, Cambridge, Duolingo | January and September 2027 intakes |
| Montpellier BS · MBS Bac+3 entrance exam, applicants who are foreign nationals | Not specified | 750 | IELTS, TOEFL, Duolingo, Cambridge, MBS EnglishTest | 2026 cycle; less than 2 years old |
| TBS Education · Grande École Program, AST 2 | Listening and Reading, 2-hour format described | Not found on the page reviewed | TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge, Duolingo | 2026 cycle; validity not specified on this page |
| Paris Dauphine-PSL · Master 2 Sustainable Performance | Not specified | 785, with a B2 level | TOEFL | 2026 schedule shown |
Why does one route’s minimum tell you nothing about another route at the same school?
A school may offer several routes, each with its own rules. On the pages reviewed, Grenoble EM lists 700 for international admission to the French Track; no numerical minimum was found on its 2026 AST page. Audencia lists 655 on its English MiM admissions page; no TOEIC figure was found on the AST 2 page. KEDGE requires a score strictly above 785 from applicants with an international degree. ECRICOME’s December 9, 2025 document says no minimum is required for the 2026 cycle; that statement cannot be carried over to 2027. MBS’s 750 threshold applies to the route shown in the table.
Two master’s programs at the same institution can have different rules: Dauphine-PSL lists 785 and B2 for Master 2 Sustainable Performance, while its Real Estate Management program says no minimum score is required but expects at least B2. No TOEIC figure was found in the language section of the HEC FAQ reviewed; C1 is still required unless the school grants an exemption.
The highest figures are ESCP (900), followed by ESSEC and EDHEC (850), including EDHEC’s AST 2. SKEMA’s FAQ says there is no disqualifying score on the English test. No numerical TOEIC minimum was found on the AST pages reviewed for emlyon, Grenoble EM, Audencia, and TBS; this finding is limited to the documents and admission cycles in the table.
Which TOEIC version does each school accept?
As the table shows, “the TOEIC” is not a single test for schools. HEC requires scores for all four sections, so Listening and Reading alone is not enough. SKEMA accepts the two-hour or one-hour adaptive Listening and Reading test, as well as 4SKILLS; it rejects Speaking and Writing and accepts only official ETS score reports. EDHEC accepts the institutional online TOEIC with the same minimum and rejects the “TOEIC en autonomie” delivery format and TOEIC Bridge; we do not define these terms beyond the school’s own wording. ECRICOME lists Listening and Reading and 4-Skills; TBS’s 2026 AST page describes the two-hour format but does not specify whether the institutional or public test is accepted.
Whether you can actually take the version your school accepts is another question: the article on the one- and two-hour formats explains what ETS Global’s French page makes available through each channel.
How long is a TOEIC score accepted?
ETS says scores can be validated for up to two years after the test date, and ETS Global states that results are valid for two years. Schools then apply their own rules. ESSEC requires a test taken less than two years before the application deadline; ESCP and MBS specify two years. For its listed 2027 sessions, SKEMA accepts tests taken since January 1, 2025. ECRICOME counts two years from the test date. emlyon and EDHEC use date windows, while HEC accepts scores for five years.
Use the deadline for your specific route, not the general rule.
What does a minimum of 785 mean?
785 is an estimated total corresponding to B2 for Listening and Reading, not a universal admissions threshold. ETS’s CEFR mapping gives minimum scores by section: at least 400 in Listening and 385 in Reading for B2. The ETS Global document presenting the mapping also associates a total with each level—785 for B2 and 945 for C1—while noting that the total is estimated by adding the section minimums and encouraging readers to consider each section separately. Dauphine-PSL lists 785 alongside B2 for its Master 2 Sustainable Performance; KEDGE requires a score strictly above 785 for international degree admission. Reaching the estimated total does not establish the required level in both sections.
The 2025 framework from the Commission des titres d’ingénieur sets B2 across all skills for the engineering degree, with explicit exceptions, including B1 in English in exceptional cases in continuing education. It recommends C1 in English and combines internal assessment with a recognized external test; its language section does not prescribe a TOEIC score of 785. A total does not tell the whole story: review your score report section by section.
CEFR levels, in the TOEIC guide GuideThe pitfall
Remembering a school’s minimum without checking the route or test version
The pitfall is to see “850” on a school’s page and apply it to every route, or to remember a total of 785 without checking whether your test version is accepted. Grenoble EM lists 700 for the international French Track, while no figure was found on the 2026 AST page reviewed.
A language minimum is one requirement, separate from the admissions decision: the application and other assessments still need to be considered for each route.
How can you check the TOEIC requirement for your route?
Instead of looking for a single figure, identify what you can verify on your program’s page.
- Identify the exact program and route: AST, international admission, MSc, and master’s programs may have different rules.
- Note which versions are accepted (Listening and Reading, four-skill, institutional) and which are rejected.
- Record the published minimum or note “no figure found in this document”; ask for confirmation if the threshold remains unclear.
- Work out the score validity deadline, then choose a test date that gives you results in time.
- Contact admissions if the page is silent or mixes multiple admission cycles, as Audencia’s AST 2 page does.
Key takeaways
- Read minimums by route and admission cycle: Grenoble EM lists 700 for the international French Track; no figure was found on the 2026 AST page reviewed.
- Check the TOEIC version before registering: HEC requires all four sections, EDHEC accepts the institutional online test, and SKEMA does not accept score reports issued outside ETS.
- ETS states a two-year validity period, but each school sets its own deadline—sometimes five years, sometimes a specific date window.
- 785 is an estimated total associated with B2 for Listening and Reading; also check the section minimums and the exact rule for your route.