Berkeley Haas admissions:
which test to take and what scores the class reports

For the general full-time MBA track, Berkeley Haas requires the GMAT or GRE, with no minimum score. For the Class of 2027, published medians are 730 on the GMAT, 675 on the GMAT Focus, and 161 Verbal and 162 Quant on the GRE; the MFE publishes GRE percentiles. The requirements below distinguish the general MBA track, Cal Advantage, and the Master of Financial Engineering (MFE). The MFE pages still describe requirements for 2027 entry, while its calendar already lists 2028.

Article · 10 min read · 15 sources Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley (page dated for 2026 entry) and GMAC · verified on October 6, 2026 · free, no account needed

Which tests do Berkeley Haas programs require?

Berkeley Haas does not use a shared admissions test; each program has its own application, with the admissions test as one component alongside essays, recommendations, and an interview. The two programs reviewed here are the full-time MBA, whose pages cover the 2026–2027 cycle for Fall 2027 entry, and the Master of Financial Engineering (MFE).

The general MBA admissions page says about 300 students enroll each fall; the Class of 2027 profile lists exactly 273. The MFE calendar lists Spring 2028 entry, with rounds from December 2026 through July 2027. Its requirements page still describes 2027 entry, which is now closed; confirm test rules and score-validity dates for 2028.

Berkeley Haas programs and published requirements: 2026–2027 MBA cycle; MFE requirements still dated for 2027 entry.
Program Entry Admissions test English test
Full-time MBAFall 2027; rounds on September 10, 2026, January 7, 2027, and April 1, 2027General track: GMAT, GMAT Focus, or GRE before the round deadline; no minimum. Cal Advantage exception published for 2026; reconfirm for 2027TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic depending on the degree country; numeric minimums below
Master of Financial Engineering (MFE)Spring 2028; one year full-time or two years (Flex option); rounds from December 1, 2026, through July 1, 2027GMAT, GMAT Focus, GRE, or GRE General Test at home; rules still dated for 2027: optional for applicants with a doctorate completed before entry or a four-year U.S. bachelor’s degree with a 3.70 GPA on a 4.0 scale; the committee may request a scoreTOEFL iBT (at least 90) or IELTS (at least 7); Duolingo and TOEFL ITP not accepted

GMAT, GMAT Focus, or GRE: what are the test requirements?

For the general MBA track, take the GMAT, GMAT Focus, or GRE before the deadline for your intended round; there is no minimum score. Cal Advantage makes tests optional for some former Berkeley students, who must submit an essay demonstrating quantitative readiness; students in their final year of a bachelor’s program must still submit a score. Its page still refers to Fall 2026 entry, so confirm whether it applies to 2027. An application fee waiver is separate from this test exception. The “choosing an international test” article outlines selection criteria.

Scores must be recent: for Fall 2027 entry, the school accepts official scores from tests taken on or after October 1, 2021. Updated scores are considered if received at least two weeks before the round decision date: November 26, 2026, March 11, 2027, or April 22, 2027. The institution codes are N2VPT47 for GMAT and 0574 for GRE. The FAQ still mentions Analytical Writing for GMAT and GRE, but the current GMAT, formerly called Focus, has no writing section. That reference therefore cannot apply to the current GMAT; ask Haas to clarify cases involving an older score. The general MBA page does not mention the Executive Assessment.

For the MFE, the requirements page, still dated for 2027 entry, accepts the same tests, including the GRE General Test at home, and makes them optional for two applicant profiles: applicants with a doctorate completed before entry, or a four-year U.S. bachelor’s degree with a final GPA of at least 3.70 on a 4.0 scale, without rounding. The bachelor’s degree must be from an accredited U.S. institution using a 4.0 scale. Applicants applying before graduation must already meet the GPA requirement when they apply and maintain it through graduation. Applicants who qualify may submit a score voluntarily; the committee also reserves the right to request one. The page does not mention the Executive Assessment. The MFE FAQ, which still refers to Spring 2025, mentions only a doctorate waiver; use the requirements page, which details both profiles. That page says scores are valid for five years and must be from January 1, 2022, or later for Spring 2027 entry.

Which English test, and what is the minimum?

For the MBA, an English test is required of applicants whose degrees are from countries where English is not the primary official language. The page lists two exemptions: a degree from a recognized institution in a country where English is the primary official language, subject to country-specific exceptions listed on the page; or at least one year of full-time coursework with a grade of B or higher at a university in the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, English-speaking Canada, or Singapore. ESL courses do not count. TOEFL is preferred; IELTS Academic is accepted, while Duolingo and PTE are not mentioned.

The TOEFL iBT minimum is stated on the 1–6 scale in use since January 21, 2026: at least 5 overall, with at least 4.5 in Speaking and Writing. On the old scale, the page retains a minimum of 90 on the iBT. The MBA FAQ does not state this as a single requirement: it says “at least 4.5 on a 6.0 scale,” then specifies a minimum total of 5 with 4.5 in Speaking and Writing for tests taken from January 21, 2026. We use the language requirements page, which lists only the latter minimum; ask the school if unsure. For IELTS, the minimum is 7 overall out of 9, with 6.5 in Speaking and Writing. For Fall 2027 entry, the page accepts only tests taken on or after June 1, 2025.

The MFE requires at least 90 on the TOEFL iBT and at least 7 out of 9 on the IELTS. The page does not mention the 1–6 scale, so we report the 90 as the school states it, without converting it. TOEIC is not on either list.

What scores does Berkeley Haas publish?

This table includes only information published by the school itself, with its scope, class, and source page. Where nothing is published, the entry says “not published.” The MBA class profile reports 273 enrolled students in the Class of 2027, with a median and middle-80% range for each test; it does not say how many students submitted each test. The MBA deadlines page lists 730 under “Average GMAT Score,” without specifying a class or scale. This is the same number as the profile median; we use the profile because it defines the scope.

The school separates GMAT into two rows labeled “GMAT” and “GMAT Focus.” It does not print the scale for the first; the second is identified only by its name, which we reproduce without interpretation. Both rows show the same median percentile, 95%, but the scores are not directly comparable. For the GRE, the school reports section scores, not a total.

Score figures published by Berkeley Haas itself, from official pages reviewed October 6, 2026.
Test Program or scope What the school publishes Edition and period
GMAT (labeled “GMAT”)Full-time MBA, Class of 2027 (273 enrolled students)Median 730; middle-80% range 669–767; median percentile 95%Scale not specified by the school; Class of 2027
GMAT FocusFull-time MBA, Class of 2027 (273 enrolled students)Median 675; middle-80% range 637–725; median percentile 95%School’s “GMAT Focus” label; Class of 2027
GRE VerbalFull-time MBA, Class of 2027 (273 enrolled students)Median 161; middle-80% range 155–167GRE section as labeled; Class of 2027
GRE QuantFull-time MBA, Class of 2027 (273 enrolled students)Median 162; middle-80% range 155–169; no total publishedGRE section as labeled; Class of 2027
GMAT (deadlines page)Full-time MBA, “Berkeley Haas Admissions” section of the deadlines page730 under “Average GMAT Score,” with no class or scale specified; we do not treat it as an average2026–2027 cycle, class not specified
GMAT, GMAT Focus, GREFull-time MBA, minimum scoreNo minimum required, according to the school2026–2027 cycle
GRE QuantMFE, enrolled students (84)Mean percentile of 91%, a percentile rather than a scoreClass entering in 2025
GRE VerbalMFE, enrolled students (84)Mean percentile of 79%, a percentile rather than a scoreClass entering in 2025
GMAT, GMAT FocusMFENot publishedClass entering in 2025

The pitfall

Treating a median as a cutoff, or confusing scores, percentiles, and programs

The median of 730 describes students in the Class of 2027 who submitted this test; it is not an admissions cutoff. At least half of this group scored at or below the median, and the school says there is no minimum. The range excludes 20% of the group, and these figures describe enrolled students, not applicants.

The MFE figures are mean GRE percentiles, not scores: 91 and 79 cannot be compared with 162 or 161, and they do not apply to the MBA. The MBA’s two GMAT rows use distinct labels from the school; do not combine them or calculate an average. Identify the program, class, and test label before interpreting a figure.

What happens after the test?

The MBA application includes the online form, transcripts from all institutions attended, a résumé, two recommendation letters (one from your current direct supervisor), and essays: a one- to two-minute video with two attempts, an essay of up to 300 words on career goals, and two optional 300-word essays (“Distance Traveled” and “Optional Statement”). The $250 application fee is nonrefundable.

Interviews are by invitation only and are required for an admission offer; they take the form of a prerecorded video session or a remote conversation with a student or alum. For Fall 2027 entry, deadlines are September 10, 2026, January 7, 2027, and April 1, 2027, with decisions on December 10, 2026, March 25, and May 6, 2027. Round 1 is closed; the next application is for Round 2, and updated scores must arrive by March 11, 2027.

The MFE application includes essay questions, a video of up to two minutes with two attempts, two recommendations, an interview by invitation, and a $275 fee. Round deadlines are December 1, 2026, January 27, April 1, and July 1, 2027, at 9 a.m. Eastern Time; the school says decisions arrive about nine weeks after submission.

Key takeaways

  • The general MBA track requires a GMAT or GRE before the round deadline, with no minimum. Cal Advantage lists an exception for 2026 that should be reconfirmed for 2027. MFE waivers remain subject to the published conditions and a possible score request from the committee.
  • For the MBA Class of 2027, the school publishes medians and ranges: GMAT 730 (669–767), GMAT Focus 675 (637–725), GRE Verbal 161 and Quant 162. It publishes neither a minimum nor a GRE total.
  • The MFE publishes only mean GRE percentiles (91 and 79) and no GMAT figures; these do not apply to the MBA and are not scores.
  • English proficiency is demonstrated through TOEFL iBT or IELTS Academic, with at least 5 out of 6 on TOEFL for the MBA; Round 1 for 2027 entry closed September 10, 2026, and Round 2 closes January 7, 2027.
Related reading

What’s next?

At your own pace

Understand the test. Now practice.

Free account. Choose a test and keep your progress.