Which tests do Chicago Booth programs require?
Each Chicago Booth program has an online application, with the admissions test as one component alongside written responses, a recommendation, and an interview. The two programs reviewed here are the full-time MBA, whose pages cover the 2026–2027 cycle for 2027 entry, and the Executive MBA, with 2026–2027 rounds published.
For the full-time MBA, the school requires an undergraduate degree from an accredited U.S. institution or its equivalent from another country. Its international applicants page adds that, under the Bologna Agreement, it also accepts three-year international degrees. We cannot determine whether a particular French degree qualifies; the school must confirm that. The “MiM or MBA” article can help you choose the program level.
| Program | Entry | Admissions test | English test |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time MBA | 2027 entry; rounds on September 15, 2026, January 7, 2027, and April 1, 2027, plus a Chicago Booth Scholars round on April 1, 2027 | GMAT or GRE, either one; no minimum or superscores; optional for University of Chicago undergraduates and alumni | TOEFL, IELTS Academic, PTE Academic, or Duolingo, subject to FAQ waivers; applicants may apply below the minimum under English proficiency conditions |
| Executive MBA | Rounds on November 2, 2026, January 25, April 12, and June 14, 2027 | Executive Assessment, GMAT, or GRE, with no minimum, or an automatic or requested waiver | English assessed through the application and interview; TOEFL may be requested, and the FAQ also mentions IELTS |
GMAT or GRE: what are the full-time MBA requirements?
The requirements page asks applicants to submit scores from the Graduate Management Admission Test or Graduate Record Examinations and says there is no minimum score for an application to be reviewed. It also says Chicago Booth does not accept superscores; applicants cannot combine their best sections across multiple test administrations. The application page asks applicants to self-report scores when applying; scores are valid for five years and must remain valid on the submission date.
The test is optional for current University of Chicago undergraduates and graduates of its programs. The FAQ rules out other GMAT/GRE waivers; the Executive Assessment is not offered for this program. Choose between the GMAT and GRE based on your timeline, strengths, and other target schools; the “GMAT or GRE” article outlines these factors.
For the Executive MBA, the test requirement can be met in three ways: an automatic waiver, a waiver request for review, or a test score. The Executive Assessment is described as developed by GMAC with Chicago Booth for executive applicants and requiring less preparation than the GMAT or GRE. The FAQ requires tests taken within five years of the application deadline. The Executive Assessment article explains the test.
An automatic waiver is available with an undergraduate degree and at least one of the following: being a current University of Chicago student or a graduate of any of its programs, at any level; a GPA of 3.4 or higher out of 4 in an undergraduate or master’s degree in management, economics, or an approved science discipline from an accredited institution; a doctorate, MD, or JD from an accredited institution; or a CPA, CFA, or international equivalent. Others may request a waiver by demonstrating strong quantitative ability; the school responds within five business days and says the request does not harm the application.
Which English test, and what is the minimum?
For the full-time MBA, the FAQ allows an English waiver for applicants with an undergraduate or graduate degree from one of the listed countries or territories; for a degree earned elsewhere, if English was the sole language of instruction, documented in the application; or after living and working full-time in the United States for at least two years. Citizenship alone does not qualify, and the school may request a score if it considers one necessary. For some joint degrees, the FAQ refers applicants to UChicago GRAD requirements. Accepted tests are TOEFL, IELTS Academic, PTE Academic, and Duolingo English Test; TOEIC is not listed. Score reports must be no more than two years old when you apply. Applicants must report scores from a single test administration; TOEFL MyBest scores are not accepted.
The school lists minimums: TOEFL 5.0 on the 1–6 scale for tests taken on or after January 21, 2026; TOEFL iBT 104 for tests taken before that date; IELTS 7; PTE Academic 70; and Duolingo 135. Applicants scoring below these levels may still apply; admission then depends on English proficiency demonstrated in the interview, if invited, or other language requirements. For the Executive MBA, the FAQ says the school decides from the application and interview whether TOEFL is needed. It lists TOEFL iBT 104 on the old scale and IELTS 7, with reports valid for two years; applicants below these minimums may still apply under certain conditions. This FAQ also retains historical TOEFL formats and does not specify a threshold on the 1–6 scale; ask EMBA admissions which rule applies to your session rather than converting 104 yourself.
What scores does Chicago Booth publish?
This table includes only figures published by the school itself, with their scope, class, and source page. Where a cited page does not report a score, the table says so. The full-time MBA profile page covers the Class of 2027: 635 students and 5,876 applications. It separates three score groups: students who submitted the legacy GMAT, the GMAT Focus, and the GRE. This “Class of 2027” is the class shown on the profile page; do not confuse it with 2027 entry for the 2026–2027 application cycle.
According to the school’s footnote, the ranges cover the middle 80%; the legacy GMAT is scored from 200 to 800, GMAT Focus from 205 to 805, and GRE Verbal and Quantitative from 130 to 170. The three percentages do not add up to 100 because, the school explains, University of Chicago-affiliated applicants and joint-degree applicants have different testing requirements. We do not convert figures across scales.
| Test | Program or scope | What the school publishes | Edition and period |
|---|---|---|---|
| GMAT (labeled “GMAT”) | Full-time MBA, 14% of the class | Average 736; median 740; range 690–770 | Legacy scale of 200–800 according to the school’s footnote; Class of 2027 |
| GMAT Focus | Full-time MBA, 39% of the class | Average 670; median 675; range 615–725 | Scale of 205–805 according to the school’s footnote; Class of 2027 |
| GRE | Full-time MBA, 42% of the class | Quant: average 163, range 156–169; Verbal: average 161, range 155–167; no total published | Sections scored from 130 to 170 according to the school’s footnote; Class of 2027 |
| GMAT, GRE | Full-time MBA, minimum | No minimum score to apply | Requirements page, 2026–2027 cycle |
| Executive Assessment | Executive MBA, students who entered in 2025 (193 students) | Average 153 | Scale not specified on the page; class entering in 2025 |
| GMAT, GRE | Executive MBA | Not published on the cited profile page | Profile page reviewed October 15, 2026 |
The pitfall
Treating an average as a cutoff, or comparing the three score groups
The 736, 670, and 163 are averages for groups of students in the class, not targets: the school says there is no minimum and that scores are only one part of its evaluation. The ranges omit 20% of each group; where a median is published, at least half the scores are at or below it.
Scores on the legacy GMAT and GMAT Focus are not directly comparable; they describe two groups of students on different scales. The groups also differ in size—14% for the legacy GMAT versus 39% for GMAT Focus—making the first figure less generalizable. The two GRE figures are section scores, not a total. Finally, the Executive MBA’s 153 comes from a different test and program and cannot be compared with any full-time MBA figure. Identify the program, class, and test before interpreting a score.
What happens after the test?
The full-time MBA online application includes four required short responses limited to 300 characters each (short- and long-term career goals, an image that matters to you, and a personal fact), one optional question of up to 300 words, a résumé, a recommendation from a supervisor, transcripts (unofficial copies first, official copies upon admission), and an application fee. An interview is required for admission but is by invitation only after application review and includes a short video simulation exercise.
For the 2026–2027 cycle, deadlines are September 15, 2026, January 7, 2027, and April 1, 2027, at 11:59 p.m. U.S. Central Time, with decisions on December 3, 2026, March 25, and May 20, 2027. The Chicago Booth Scholars round closes April 1, 2027, with a decision on June 24, 2027. Plan backward from your deadline to take the test, allow for a retake, and prepare for the English test, whose score report expires after two years.
The Executive MBA application includes an essay of fewer than 500 words explaining why you are pursuing Chicago Booth’s Executive MBA, optional short answers, a résumé, a recommendation (preferably from your current supervisor; contact admissions if that is not possible), transcripts from all postsecondary institutions attended, and an application fee. An interview may be offered by invitation. The 2026–2027 rounds close November 2, 2026, January 25, April 12, and June 14, 2027; the school may consider applications after the final date case by case, depending on available seats.
Key takeaways
- The full-time MBA requires applicants to self-report a GMAT or GRE when applying, except for University of Chicago-related waivers, with no minimum or superscore; the Executive MBA accepts the Executive Assessment or offers a waiver.
- For the Class of 2027, the school publishes averages and middle-80% ranges, as well as GMAT medians: 736 on the legacy GMAT, 670 on GMAT Focus, and GRE scores of 163 Quant and 161 Verbal. These are class figures, not cutoffs.
- Scores for the three groups and the Executive Assessment (153 for the Executive MBA) are not directly comparable; we do not convert any figures.
- An English test may be required (TOEFL 5.0 on the 1–6 scale, score report valid for two years); MBA rounds close September 15, 2026, January 7, and April 1, 2027.