Yale SOM admissions:
which test to take and what scores the class reports

For the Yale SOM MBA, submit a GMAT or GRE; the school has no preference and sets no minimum. The LSAT is also accepted if you have considered law school. An admissions test is still required. For the Class of 2027, medians are 740 on the GMAT, 675 on GMAT Focus, and 163 Verbal and 166 Quant on the GRE. These medians describe enrolled students, not cutoffs; requirements for other master’s programs are detailed below.

Article · 8 min read · 12 sources Yale School of Management · verified on October 15, 2026 · free, no account needed

Which tests do Yale SOM programs require?

Each Yale SOM program has its own application, with the admissions test as one component alongside essays, videos, and an interview. The table reflects what admissions pages stated on October 15, 2026 for the three program types reviewed here: the two-year MBA, the Master of Advanced Management (MAM), which builds on an MBA, and the master’s programs in asset management and Global Business & Society (GBS).

Entry requirements differ by program: the MAM is for recent MBA graduates and students who will earn an MBA before enrollment, with some joint-degree options. GBS is for students in, or graduates of, a master’s program in management or an equivalent program; it requires at least 12 weeks of full-time work experience before enrollment, including internships. The “MiM or MBA: choose your program before your test” article can help you choose the right program level.

Yale SOM programs and required tests, based on official pages for the 2026–2027 cycle, reviewed October 15, 2026.
Program Entry Admissions test English test
Two-year MBA2026–2027 guide: rounds on September 15, 2026, January 6, 2027, and April 7, 2027GMAT or GRE required, no waivers; LSAT accepted for applicants who have considered law school; no minimumNot required for non-native English speakers
Master of Advanced Management (MAM)Class of 2028: four rounds from December 1, 2026, through March 30, 2027; the first is reserved for Global Network for Advanced Management schoolsGMAT or GRE required, no waivers; online versions accepted; no minimumNot addressed on the pages reviewed
Master’s in Asset ManagementOne deadline: January 7, 2027GMAT or GRE required, no preference; at-home or test-center versions accepted; no minimumTOEFL, Duolingo, or IELTS if English is not your native language and you do not have a degree from an English-speaking country; no minimum listed
Master’s in Global Business & Society (GBS)Class of 2028: four rounds from December 1, 2026, through March 30, 2027; first round reserved for Global Network for Advanced Management schoolsGMAT or GRE required; applications are not reviewed without a score; no minimumTOEFL, PTE, or IELTS not required

GMAT or GRE: does the school prefer one?

For the MBA, an admissions test is required: the FAQ requires a verified GMAT or GRE and also allows the LSAT for applicants who have considered law school. The guide accepts both tests, including online and shorter versions, with no preference, and says there is no baseline minimum for total or section scores. The “GMAT or GRE: choose based on your programs and format” article outlines how to choose.

Scores must be valid when you apply, within the stated five-year window, and official reports must be sent before expiration and by the post-submission materials deadline for your round. If you submit multiple scores, the school reviews them all and uses the highest. The FAQ says that if an official GMAT report includes a Superscore, it is reviewed alongside individual test administrations; applicants should not calculate their own combined score. The LSAT is also accepted for applicants who are considering or have considered law school; the FAQ advises contacting the school for instructions.

For a test not explicitly listed as accepted, confirm with the school before booking. For the Master’s in Asset Management, the school also says it has no preference and accepts both test versions.

Which English test, and what is the minimum?

The MBA guide says the school does not require non-native English speakers to take an English test such as TOEFL, IELTS, or PTE. You do not need to add TOEFL to the MBA application, though this does not waive the expectation that you can work in English. The GBS FAQ says the same about TOEFL, PTE Academic, and IELTS.

The Master’s in Asset Management is an exception: it requires TOEFL, Duolingo, or IELTS if English is not your native language and you do not have a degree from an English-speaking country. Even a degree from a country where English is an official language (the school lists India, Pakistan, Hong Kong, and Singapore) does not waive the requirement; it may be waived if the entire degree program was taught in English. English-language instruction in a country where English is not an official language is not sufficient. The pages reviewed list no minimum. The MAM pages reviewed do not discuss an English test.

What scores does Yale SOM publish?

This table distinguishes programs, classes, and test editions. A missing figure on the profile pages reviewed does not mean no figure exists elsewhere. The MBA profile page covers the Class of 2027, with 367 enrolled students; 47% of incoming students submitted a GRE score. For the Master’s in Asset Management, the page reviewed covers the Class of 2026.

The MBA profile publishes two separate rows, “GMAT” and “GMAT (Focus edition).” The page does not specify a scale for the first, so we preserve its label without converting or combining the figures. For the Master’s in Asset Management, the school says its range is for the Focus edition; among GMAT scores reported, 38% are from the pre-2024 edition, with a median of 735. This median is not comparable to the range.

Score figures published by Yale SOM itself, from profile pages reviewed October 15, 2026.
Test Program or scope What the school publishes Edition and period
GMAT (labeled “GMAT”)MBA, incoming classMiddle 80%: 691–760; median 740Scale not specified by the school; Class of 2027
GMAT FocusMBA, incoming classMiddle 80%: 638–715; median 675School’s “GMAT (Focus edition)” label; Class of 2027
GRE VerbalMBA, incoming classMiddle 80%: 158–169; median 163GRE section; Class of 2027
GRE QuantMBA, incoming classMiddle 80%: 160–170; median 166; no total publishedGRE section; Class of 2027
GMAT, GREMBA, minimum and averageNo minimum required; the profile reviewed reports medians and ranges2026–2027 cycle
GRE QuantMaster’s in Asset Management, incoming classMiddle 80%: 165–170GRE section; Class of 2026
GRE VerbalMaster’s in Asset Management, incoming classMiddle 80%: 157.5–169; 68% of students submitted the GREGRE section; Class of 2026
GMATMaster’s in Asset Management, incoming classMiddle 80%: 647–715; 32% of students submitted the GMATFocus edition, according to the school; Class of 2026
GMAT, GREMAMThe school says it does not publish an average; no numeric score appears in the profile reviewedClass of 2027 profile and FAQ
GMAT, GREGBSThe school says it does not calculate an average; no numeric score appears in the profile reviewedClass of 2027 profile and FAQ

The pitfall

Treating a median as a cutoff and mixing editions, tests, or programs

A median describes the center of a distribution; it is not a required minimum. The school says there is no minimum score, and the middle ranges exclude 20% of the group’s scores. The MBA scores of 740 and 675 are medians on two separate rows; do not combine or convert them, or add them to GRE section scores, for which the profile reviewed reports no total.

Figures for one program do not apply to another: the Master’s in Asset Management range (647–715) applies only to its Class of 2026, not the MBA. The MAM and GBS profiles reviewed do not show score ranges. Identify the program, class, and test edition before interpreting a score.

What happens after the test?

The MBA application includes one essay of up to 500 words, chosen from three prompts. After submitting the application and paying the fee, applicants complete an online behavioral assessment administered by ETS (about 25 minutes) and two 60-second video questions. Interviews are by invitation and conducted on a rolling basis; they last 30 minutes with a student, alum, or admissions committee member.

The MAM requires four short essays of up to 300 words, video questions, a professional recommendation, and a confirmation letter from the applicant’s original MBA director; all admitted applicants are interviewed by invitation on Zoom. For the Class of 2028, deadlines are December 1, 2026, January 12, February 23, and March 30, 2027, with decisions on January 8, February 12, March 25, and April 29, 2027.

The Master’s in Asset Management application deadline is January 7, 2027, and official scores must be sent by January 11, before they expire. GBS has the same four rounds as the MAM, with the first reserved for Global Network for Advanced Management schools. Plan backward from your target deadline to take the test, allow for a possible retake, and have scores sent to the school.

Key takeaways

  • A test is still required for the MBA: GMAT or GRE, with no preference or minimum, or LSAT for applicants who have considered law school. Scores must be valid when applying and sent officially by the deadline.
  • For the MBA Class of 2027, the school publishes medians and middle-80% ranges: GMAT 740 (691–760), GMAT Focus 675 (638–715), and GRE 163 Verbal and 166 Quant. The profile reviewed reports medians, not averages.
  • The MAM and GBS also require a score; their FAQs say no average is calculated, and their profiles reviewed show no numeric scores. The Master’s in Asset Management publishes a range for its Class of 2026, which does not apply to the MBA.
  • The MBA requires no English test; the Master’s in Asset Management may require one depending on native language and degree. MBA Round 2 closes January 6, 2027.
Related reading

What’s next?

At your own pace

Understand the test. Now practice.

Free account. Choose a test and keep your progress.