TAGE MAGE scores by school:
what schools actually publish

The documents reviewed for ten schools list no minimum TAGE MAGE score for the pathways covered. HEC recommends an average of 440 out of 600; Audencia cites an average above 300 among shortlisted candidates. The table distinguishes averages, observations, and admissions rules. It draws on official sources reviewed on October 15, 2026; 2026 application-cycle materials remain labeled as such.

Article · 8 min read · 17 sources HEC Paris, ESCP Business School, ESSEC Business School, EDHEC Business School, emlyon business school, SKEMA Business School, Grenoble École de Management, Audencia, ECRICOME and FNEGE · verified on October 15, 2026 · free, no account needed

What do ten schools publish for each pathway?

The table’s order is editorial and says nothing about a school’s requirements. For each school, it shows the pathway for an applicant with a three-year degree who takes the TAGE MAGE. Other programs (MSc, MBA, Executive MBA) are excluded; check their requirements separately. Degree type and country may also determine which pathway is available; a three-year degree alone does not guarantee eligibility.

The final column includes only information published by the school or testing organization, with its scope and time period. All TAGE MAGE scores are out of 600. “Not published” means we found no figure on the pages reviewed; it says nothing about the actual weight of the score in the application. Figures for other tests are not included. An overall competition score is distinguished from the TAGE MAGE score; no conversions between tests or scales are made. Unspecified time periods are flagged.

Ten pathways after a three-year degree, accepted tests, and score information: official sources reviewed October 15, 2026; application cycles specified where stated.
School Pathway Accepted admissions tests Score published by the school
HEC ParisMaster in Management, direct admission (three-year degree)GMAT, GRE, or TAGE MAGENo minimum (undated master’s FAQ); recommended average: 440/600, class and time period not stated
ESCP Business SchoolMaster in Management, Direct Admissions (three-year degree)GMAT, GRE, TAGE MAGE, or CAT; ESCP test available on request for applicants who studied outside FranceNo minimum (program page, 2027 intake)
ESSEC Business SchoolMaster in Management, degree-based admission (three-year degree)GMAT, GRE, TAGE MAGE, or CAT (Indian applicants)No cutoff or average found on the admissions page reviewed
EDHEC Business SchoolGrande École Program, AST 2 (three-year degree)TAGE MAGE or GMATNo numerical cutoff or average found on the 2027 AST 2 page; scores above 350/600 described as increasingly common, without details on population or time period
emlyon business schoolGrande École Program, second year, AST competitionTAGE MAGE or GMATNo cutoff or average found on the French AST page reviewed
SKEMA Business SchoolGrande École Program, AST 2 (three-year degree)TAGE MAGE, GMAT, GRE, or CATNo minimum (AST FAQ, 2027 calendar); “average score of last candidates placed” of 15 in AST 2 for 2026: competition indicator, scale unspecified, not converted to a TAGE MAGE score
Grenoble École de ManagementGrande École Program, AST 2 (entry to first-year master’s)TAGE MAGE or GMATNo numerical TAGE MAGE minimum found; 2026 rules: overall shortlisting and admission thresholds are set by admissions committees, with no figures given
AudenciaGrande École Program, three-year degree (AST 2)TAGE MAGE or GMATNo official minimum; the school says shortlisted applicants have averaged above 300/600 “in recent years,” without specifying class years
NEOMA Business SchoolECRICOME Tremplin Bac+3 (second year of the Grande École Program)TAGE MAGE, GMAT, or GRENo numerical cutoff found on the ECRICOME 2027 page; the 2026 cycle presentation explicitly states that no minimum is required
KEDGE Business SchoolECRICOME Tremplin Bac+3 (second year of the Grande École Program)TAGE MAGE, GMAT, or GRENo numerical cutoff found on the ECRICOME 2027 page; the 2026 cycle presentation explicitly states that no minimum is required

What do schools publish instead of a cutoff?

HEC, ESCP, SKEMA, and Audencia say there is no TAGE MAGE minimum; ECRICOME says so in its 2026 cycle presentation. Its 2027 page does not repeat that statement, so check the current cycle’s rule with the testing organization. HEC adds nuance: it recommends aiming for its averages and says the admissions-test requirement cannot be waived. Its Master in Management FAQ lists 440 out of 600 as the TAGE MAGE average to aim for (undated page), without identifying the class. For AST 2, Audencia says shortlisted applicants have averaged above 300 out of 600 “in recent years”; it does not specify the exact years or sample size.

Other published figures are not TAGE MAGE admissions cutoffs. EDHEC says on its 2027 AST 2 competition page that scores above 350 are becoming more common: this is an observation, not a minimum. emlyon publishes excellence-scholarship thresholds for international admission to its Master in Management (TAGE MAGE scores of 360 and 400 for 5% and 10% off first-year tuition); these do not determine admission. ESCP publishes English minimums for direct admission (TOEIC Listening and Reading 900, IELTS 6.5, 2027 intake). None of these figures is a TAGE MAGE admissions cutoff.

This distinction between scores and admissions decisions aligns with FNEGE, which administers the test: it does not produce a pass or fail, publishes no session averages, and leaves each institution to decide how to evaluate scores using its own conversion and weighting. ESCP, for example, says the admissions test accounts for 10% of the evaluation for direct admission.

Where do figures found elsewhere come from?

A “target score by school” table on a prep site, forum, or news article should cite its source. It may reproduce an official average, offer advice, or summarize a sample of applicants. Without an identifiable source, pathway, and time period, it cannot tell you which rule applies to your application.

Three factors mean a figure cannot be treated as a cutoff. First, time period: FNEGE says a score is valid for the year taken and the following year, but some schools set their own score windows. Under FNEGE’s rules, a 2025 score remains valid through December 31, 2026; that does not guarantee acceptance for a 2027 intake. A figure without a date cannot be tied to a specific application cycle. Second, scope: one school may offer several pathways, each with its own tests and seats. Finally, the type of figure: an admitted student’s score, an applicant average, and a final admissions-competition score are different things. None alone is an admissions minimum.

We do not provide estimates: when the documents reviewed list no figure for a pathway, the table says so. The checks below can help you make your decision.

The pitfall

Treating a recommended average or cutoff table as an admissions rule

Two misreadings are common. The first turns an average the school recommends aiming for into a minimum; HEC says the opposite, that there is no minimum, and does not explain how scores are weighed alongside the rest of the application. The second is dropping or choosing a school based on an unsourced cutoff table, even though the documents reviewed for these ten pathways list no numerical minimum.

None of the pages reviewed says that a score below a listed average disqualifies an applicant or that a higher score guarantees admission. The test is only one part of the application, with a weighting specific to each pathway. A published weighting does not necessarily reveal how the score is converted or what the overall selection threshold is.

How can you assess your score without an official cutoff?

Instead of looking for a single score for a school, make a decision based on verifiable information. The “Good TAGE MAGE score” article explains the process; here are the steps.

  • Identify the exact program and pathway: AST 1, AST 2, Tremplin Bac+3, and direct admission do not require the same test or application.
  • On the admissions page, note the accepted test, whether the score is required, optional, or a choice, and what the school says about score validity.
  • Check whether the school publishes a weighting or conversion; if it does not, write “not published” rather than filling in the gap.
  • Track your progress with your own practice and the scoring rules: the “TAGE MAGE scoring” article explains that blank answers earn no points and there is no penalty.
  • Ask the admissions office if the page is silent; it is the only source that can confirm the rule for your application cycle.

Where can you find details for each school?

Each school in the table has its own admissions page on the site, with pathways, tests, and published figures, including sources and dates. The TAGE MAGE school directory brings them together.

For general requirements, the article about AST 1 and AST 2 pathways explains which test fits your degree; the AST application article lists required documents; the ECRICOME Tremplin Bac+3 article explains how tests are used by NEOMA and KEDGE; and the score-validity article tells you whether your result is still accepted. If you are considering the GRE, the “TAGE MAGE or GRE” article compares them; for the GMAT, look at percentiles rather than a cutoff; and for English, the article comparing the TOEIC Listening and Reading with the four-skills test can help you check your application requirements.

Key takeaways

  • The documents reviewed for these ten pathways list no numerical TAGE MAGE minimum; HEC, ESCP, SKEMA, and Audencia explicitly say there is none. The cited ECRICOME statement applies to 2026.
  • When a school publishes a figure, check the test, scale, pathway, and time period before comparing it with your score.
  • A school-published average, a prep recommendation, and an admissions minimum are three different things.
  • Assess your score based on your target pathway and published requirements; ask the school when its page is silent.
Related reading

What’s next?

At your own pace

Understand the test. Now practice.

Free account. Choose a test and keep your progress.