TOEFL iBT scores by school:
published requirements

The TOEFL iBT score required depends on the program and application route: the thresholds found range from 70 to 110 on the former 0–120 scale and from 4.5 to 5.5 on the 1–6 scale. Compare your score report with the published requirement on the same scale; do not convert it yourself. The table covers 28 schools and distinguishes minimums, recommendations, and cases where no minimum is published. The initial review was conducted on October 5 and 6, 2026; application cycles and documents are specified row by row. A rule dated 2026 does not automatically apply to a later intake.

Article · 18 min read · 79 sources ETS, ESSEC Business School, ESCP Business School, EDHEC Business School, emlyon business school, SKEMA Business School, Grenoble École de Management, Audencia, NEOMA Business School, KEDGE Business School, ECRICOME, HEC Paris, INSEAD, London Business School, London School of Economics and Political Science, Cambridge Judge Business School, IESE Business School, IE University, IE Business School, Esade Business School, Università Bocconi, SDA Bocconi School of Management, University of St.Gallen, Harvard Business School, Stanford Graduate School of Business, MIT Sloan School of Management, Columbia Business School, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley and Yale School of Management · verified on October 6, 2026 · free, no account needed

What does each school publish for each application route?

For 28 schools, the table reproduces what each program’s admissions page says about the TOEFL iBT: a number when the school publishes one, along with its scale and time window; otherwise, “not published” or the rule as written. It adds no class averages, third-party figures, or scale conversions.

A recommended score is not a required minimum, and a threshold below which a school discourages applications (Harvard) is not a requirement. The schools are grouped into three tabs; the order is not a ranking.

French schools

Ten schools and the ECRICOME admissions consortium. The AST admissions routes at emlyon, SKEMA, Grenoble EM, and Audencia publish no TOEFL minimum; EDHEC does. Nearly all English-language master’s programs publish a minimum, with figures that vary by school.

The TOEFL iBT at ten French schools and the ECRICOME competition: published minimum, scale, and timing; initial review on October 5, 2026, with application cycles and documents specified by row.
School and route Published TOEFL minimum Scale, time window, and details Page reviewed
ESSEC · Master in Management (degree-based admission), Finance, DSBA, SMIB95On the 120-point scale; the page also lists “5/6”; test must be less than 2 years old by the application round deadlineMaster’s program admissions pages
ESSEC · Global MBA100Scale not specified on the pageGlobal MBA admissions page
ESSEC · Rabat master’s programs (FEDA, IBSCM)90 or 4.5 of 6Both pages list “90 or 4.5/6”; Special Home Edition accepted; tests must be less than two years old by the deadline; 2026 application scheduleFEDA and IBSCM admissions pages
ESCP · Master in Management, direct admission4.5 (webpage); 90 (brochure)4.5 on the 1–6 scale on the 2027 application page; 90 on the 0–120 scale in the undated direct-admission brochureMaster in Management page; direct-admission brochure
ESCP · MBA1002027 application cycle; waiver possible after three years of study or work in English; scale not specifiedMBA admissions requirements page
EDHEC · Grande École Program, AST 292Tests taken from January 1, 2026, through March 31, 2027; scale not specifiedAST 2 admissions page
EDHEC · International Master in Management and MSc92TOEFL iBT; the page also lists 570 for the ITP; scale not specifiedOnline application page
EDHEC · Global MBA, Nice95Scale not specifiedGlobal MBA admissions page
emlyon · AST, year 2, remote session in December 2026Not publishedTOEFL iBT listed alongside TOEIC Listening & Reading and IELTS; scores earned from January 1, 2025, through November 30, 2026AST admissions page
emlyon · Master in Management, international admissionNot publishedCEFR C1 recommended; scores valid for 2 yearsMaster in Management page
SKEMA · ASTNo minimumTOEFL iBT or ITP accepted; no minimum or cutoff score; for the 2027 application cycle, English test must have been taken since January 1, 2025AST admissions exam FAQ
Grenoble EM · AST, Grande École ProgramNot publishedTOEFL listed alongside IELTS, Duolingo, and TOEIC Listening & Reading; English test has a coefficient of 12 in the 2026 AST regulationsAST page and 2026 regulations
Grenoble EM · International Master in Management (English Track), MSc Finance and Investment Banking, Global MBA80TOEFL iBT; scale not specified; MiM page still dated September 2026, Global MBA page dated September 2027Program pages
Audencia · AST 2, Grande École ProgramNot publishedTOEFL iBT listed; no admissions minimum specifiedAST 2 admissions page
Audencia · Master in Management, MSc Corporate Finance & Investment Banking, MS Digital Strategies and Data Marketing, International MBA84TOEFL iBT; Master in Management: September 1, 2027 intake; MS Digital Strategies and Data Marketing: score less than 2 years old, page still dated September 2026Program admissions pages
Audencia · Master 2 Global Mobility Track (Harvard Division of Continuing Education)100Subject to availability; not an AST 2 admissions requirement; period not specifiedAST 2 overview page
NEOMA · Master in Management, international admissionNot publishedTOEFL iBT listed; the page directs applicants to contact the school about required scoresMaster in Management page
NEOMA · MSc Global Management, double-degree option88At least 21 in Speaking and Writing; scale not specified; no intake date on the pageMSc Global Management page
KEDGE · Master in Management, direct applicationAbove 80TOEFL iBT; the page also says “TOEFL above 550”; waiver possible after one year of study in English or work experience in an English-speaking countryMaster in Management admissions page
KEDGE · MSc ISLI Global Supply Chain Management79 (short track); 70 (long track)TOEFL iBT; scale not specified; page dated for the September 2026 intakeMSc ISLI admissions page
ECRICOME · Tremplin Bac+2 and Bac+3 (including NEOMA and KEDGE)Not publishedTremplin Bac+3 page: TOEFL listed among English tests for the 2027 application cycle, with no numeric minimum identified. The 2026 Bac+2/Bac+3 regulations, retained for that cycle only, provide for conversion to a score out of 20 using an unpublished internal tableTremplin page and regulations
HEC Paris · Master in ManagementNot publishedTOEFL accepted; the FAQ states a C1 level and an assessment of all four skills, with no numeric TOEFL threshold; requirements specific to other master’s programsFAQ and master’s admissions pages
HEC Paris · HEC-Yale M2M dual degreeNo minimumThe page says no minimum TOEFL or IELTS score is required to applyHEC–Yale M2M admissions page
HEC Paris · MBACEFR level C1 (5 out of 6)Scores less than two years old; waiver for native English speakers and applicants with a degree taught entirely in EnglishMBA requirements page

Europe

Nine schools. Most publish scores on the 0–120 scale; LSE, Esade, Bocconi, INSEAD, London Business School, Cambridge Judge for the MBA, and IE also publish, or instead publish, a score on the new 1–6 scale.

The TOEFL iBT at nine European schools: published minimum, scale, and timing; initial review on October 5, 2026, with application cycles and documents specified by row.
School and route Published TOEFL minimum Scale, time window, and details Page reviewed
INSEAD · Master in Management105 on the 120-point scale; 5.5 for the January 2026 formatSchool-recommended minimum, February 2026 document; 5.5 is on the 1–6 scaleMaster in Management language policy
INSEAD · MBA105 out of 120; 5.5 for the new formatRecommended minimum; policy revised in March 2026 and currently linked from admissions; test must be less than two years old by the deadlineMBA language policy
London Business School · MiM, Global MiM, MAM, and MFA96 before January 21, 2026; 5 after that dateFormer format: 22 in Speaking and Listening, 23 in Reading and Writing. New format: 4 in Speaking, 4.5 in Reading and Writing, 5 in Listening; test must be less than two years old at the August intake“Proving your English language ability” sheet
London Business School · MBANot publishedTOEFL accepted; no minimum on the pageMBA admissions requirements page
LSE · programs reviewed (“Standard” level)100 on the 120-point scale; 5.5 on the 6-point scaleOn 120-point scale: 23 Reading, 22 Listening, 24 Writing, 22 Speaking. On 6-point scale: 5 in Reading, Listening, and Writing; 4.5 in Speaking. 2027/28 entry; test must be less than two years old on October 1, 2027Language requirements for 2027–2028
Cambridge Judge · Master of Finance100 out of 120At least 25 in each section; after January 21, 2026, Language Centre assessment if these scores are met; 2027 application page, linked policy still identified as the September 2026 versionMaster of Finance admissions page
Cambridge Judge · MPhil in Management110 out of 120At least 25 in each section; main section: test taken by January 21, 2026 (Home Edition included). A note also mentions possible additional assessment for later tests; confirm this with the school. October 2027 entryMPhil in Management admissions page
Cambridge Judge · MBA100 before January 21, 2026; 5.5 from that date onwardFormer scale: 25 in each section. New scale: at least two subscores of 5.5 or higher, with none below 5. Home Edition accepted; test within two years before the start of the program; currently linked policy reviewed October 15, 2026MBA FAQ and currently linked language policy
IESE · MBA100Recommended; TOEFL iBT tests taken after January 2026 remain accepted and are assessed on the existing 0–120 scaleAdmissions page and MBA fees
IESE · Master in Management (Madrid) and Executive MBA100 (Master in Management); 95 (Executive MBA)Scale not specified on these pagesAdmissions pages for both programs
IE University · master’s programs, including the Master in Management100; 105 recommendedFor tests taken after January 21, 2026, the policy says “5, 5.5 recommended”; 100 is on the 0–120 scale2026–2027 master’s admissions policy
IE Business School · International MBA100 on the former scale; 5 for tests taken after January 21, 2026The application documents section recommends 105; the FAQ lists 5 as the minimum on the new scale, without a numeric recommendation on that scaleInternational MBA admissions page and FAQ
Esade · Full-Time MBA and MSc100 out of 120; 5.0 out of 6At least 4.5 in each section on the 1–6 scale; TOEFL valid for two years for both programs; 2026–27 application cycleAdmissions pages for the MBA and the MSc programs
Bocconi · MSc/MA, international trackB2: 88 or 4.5; five C1 tracks: 100 or 5Standard B2: submit proof at enrollment, no later than June 30, 2027. C1 by July 23, 2027 for IM and Finance Global Experience, IM CEMS MIM, and the two ESSEC dual degrees. Each score is published on its own scale, without conversionStandard language requirements and requirements for the five C1 tracks
SDA Bocconi · Full-Time MBANo minimum in the section reviewed“Proficiency in English” section reviewed October 15, 2026: TOEFL, IELTS, PTE Academic, Cambridge C1 Advanced, and Duolingo listed, with no numeric thresholdMBA admissions page, English section
University of St. Gallen · MBANot publishedPolicy published September 11, 2025, for fall 2026 and reviewed October 15, 2026: an English test is required at C1 level, but no test is named and no numeric TOEFL threshold is given. The 2026–2027 filename does not extend it to fall 2027MBA admissions policy

United States

Nine schools. Three publish a TOEFL minimum (Stanford, Chicago Booth, Berkeley Haas); one gives only a threshold below which it discourages applications (Harvard); one does not accept TOEFL (MIT Sloan); and four publish no minimum (Columbia, Kellogg, Wharton, and Yale).

The TOEFL iBT at nine US schools: published minimum, scale, and timing; initial review on October 6, 2026, with application cycles and documents specified by row.
School and route Published TOEFL minimum Scale, time window, and details Page reviewed
Harvard Business School · MBANot publishedNo minimum; the committee discourages applying below 5 out of 6 or 109 out of 120; test required unless waived for a degree taught in English; a graduate degree taught in English may also qualify for a waiverInternational applicants page
Stanford GSB · MBA and MSx100 (tests before January 21, 2026); 5.0 (MBA: on or after January 21; MSx: after that date)Scores valid for two years; MyBest Scores not accepted; waiver possible after a degree taught entirely in English; an additional test may be requiredEnglish Language Proficiency, MBA and MSx
MIT Sloan · MBA, Master of Finance, Master of Business AnalyticsNot acceptedThe school does not accept TOEFL or IELTS; English is assessed during the interviewMBA FAQ; pages for both master’s programs
Columbia Business School · MBANo separate testThe FAQ says international applicants do not need to submit a test such as TOEFL; their GMAT or GRE Verbal score is sufficientMBA FAQ
Columbia Business School · MS (MSAFA, MSFE, MSM)Not publishedTOEFL, IELTS or PTE, unless you hold a degree from an English-language institution; score less than two years old at the time of application; the highest score is usedAdmissions requirements and MS programs FAQ
Chicago Booth · Full-Time MBA5.0 (tests from January 21, 2026 onward); 104 (earlier tests)Applicants may apply below the minimum, but admission requires demonstrated English proficiency in the interview or through other language requirements; score reports valid for two yearsInternational applicants page
Kellogg · MBA and Master in ManagementNot publishedTOEFL, IELTS, or Duolingo if English is not your first language; waivers depend on degreeInternational applicants page; Master in Management page
Wharton · Full-Time MBANot publishedTOEFL iBT, PTE, IELTS, or Duolingo if prior studies were not in English; no minimum in the guideMBA application guide
Berkeley Haas · Full-Time MBA5 out of 6, including 4.5 in Speaking and Writing; 90 on the former scaleFall 2027: tests taken since June 1, 2025. The FAQ retains one sentence listing 4.5 but later says 5, including 4.5 in Speaking and Writing, for tests from January 21, 2026 onward; confirm if uncertainLanguage requirements
Berkeley Haas · Master of Financial Engineering90At least 90 on TOEFL iBT; Home Edition accepted, MyBest Scores not accepted; for spring 2027, test taken since November 1, 2024; 1–6 scale not mentioned, Duolingo and TOEFL ITP not acceptedMFE requirements
Yale SOM · MBANo test requiredThe guide waives TOEFL, IELTS, and PTE for applicants who are not native English speakersMBA application guide
Yale SOM · Master’s in Asset ManagementNot publishedTOEFL, Duolingo, or IELTS required if English is not your first language and you do not hold a degree from an English-speaking country; waiver for a degree taught entirely in English is limited to countries/territories specified in the FAQ; scores must be within their two-year validity period when submitted for January 2027Application information

Why is the same test score written as “100” or “5”?

Since January 21, 2026, ETS has reported TOEFL iBT scores on a 1–6 scale in half-point increments. The overall score is the average of the four section scores, rounded to the nearest half point. Each section is also scored from 1 to 6.

During the two-year transition period after January 2026, the score report also gives a comparable overall score on the 0–120 scale, representing, according to ETS, the midpoint of the corresponding total-score range. A school listing “100” is using the former scale; one listing “5” or “4.5” is using the new one. These are two scales, not a contradiction.

ETS publishes its own comparison table, shown here for the bands most often cited by schools. ETS says a band score of 5 corresponds to a total of 95 through 106; “+” marks the lowest total in a band. Another table in the ETS report links bands to the CEFR, with the same value for all four sections and the overall score.

Bands 4 to 6: total on the 0–120 scale (ETS institution page and Table 6 of its April 2026 report) and CEFR level (Table 7 of the report), as published by ETS.
Band (1–6) Total on 0–120 scale, according to ETS CEFR level, according to ETS
6114+C2
5.5107+C1
595+ (up to 106)C1
4.586+B2
472+B2
The score calculation, in the TOEFL guide Guide

The pitfall

Should you convert a school’s score yourself?

The pitfall is converting “100” to “5,” or vice versa, using the ETS table or another school’s score. Schools do not all make that conversion the same way, as their own published score pairs show.

These are the schools’ own score pairs: they do not align (ESSEC lists 95 and 5 for its master’s programs, while Esade lists 100 and 5.0), and neither is an ETS conversion. ETS warns institutions that converting a former threshold of 100 to 5.5 could exclude qualified applicants. ETS advises starting with the program’s CEFR target and reviewing all the information on the score report, not only the total.

Keep this rule in mind: compare the score the school publishes for your application route, on its stated scale, with the score on your report using that same scale. If the report and the page use different scales, the school must explain how it interprets the score. ESCP is one case where this question arises: its 2027 page lists 4.5, while an undated brochure lists 90. Ask the school.

Score pairs published by eleven schools; we have not converted them.
School and route On the 0–120 scale On the 1–6 scale Status of the score
ESSEC · Master in Management, Finance955Published minimum
ESSEC · Rabat master’s programs (FEDA, IBSCM)904.5Published minimum
Stanford GSB · MBA and MSx100 (for tests taken before January 21, 2026)5.0 (MBA: on or after January 21; MSx: after that date)Published minimum
Esade · MBA and MSc1005.0, with at least 4.5 per sectionPublished minimum
LSE · “Standard” level1005.5, including 5 in Reading, Listening, and Writing and 4.5 in SpeakingPublished minimum
Cambridge Judge · MBA100 before January 21, 2026, 25 per section5.5 from that date onward; at least two subscores of 5.5, none below 5Published minimum
INSEAD · Master in Management1055.5Recommended minimum
London Business School · MiM, Global MiM, MAM, and MFA96 (before January 21, 2026)5 (after that date), Speaking 4, Reading/Writing 4.5, Listening 5Published minimum
Harvard · MBA1095Threshold below which the school discourages applications
Chicago Booth · MBA104 (for tests taken before January 21, 2026)5.0 (from that date onward)Minimum; applications may be submitted below the threshold
ESCP · Master in Management, direct admission90 (undated brochure)4.5 (2027 page)Minimum
Berkeley Haas · MBA90 (former scale)5, including 4.5 in Speaking and WritingMinimum

Which score report does the school accept, and until when?

ETS says TOEFL iBT scores are valid for two years from the test date. Schools then set their own limits. ESSEC requires the test to be no more than two years old by the selected round’s deadline; London Business School requires it to be less than two years old at the August intake. Stanford says scores are valid for two years and the test must be taken before the round deadline; Chicago Booth says reports are valid for two years. For its 2027 AST 2, EDHEC counts only tests taken from January 1, 2026, through March 31, 2027; for fall 2027 entry, Berkeley Haas counts tests taken from June 1, 2025 onward.

The scale change adds transition rules that each school states differently. Stanford and Chicago Booth set thresholds based on test date. IESE says TOEFL iBT tests taken after January 2026 are still accepted and assessed on the existing 0–120 scale. For its Master of Finance, Cambridge Judge says candidates who meet its scores on a test taken after January 21, 2026, are directed to a Language Centre assessment. Its MPhil in Management page combines a section for tests taken by that date with a note suggesting an additional assessment for later tests. Review your program page when you register because these rules change.

Finally, check the score report itself. ETS says it shows scores from the selected test date and MyBest Scores, which combine your highest scores from the past two years. Stanford and the Berkeley Haas MFE page do not accept MyBest Scores. Stanford, EDHEC (MiM/MSc), Esade, LSE, Cambridge Judge (MPhil in Management and its currently linked MBA policy), Berkeley Haas (MFE), and ESSEC’s Rabat master’s programs say the Home Edition is accepted, subject to each program’s conditions. Silence on another page is not enough to draw a conclusion. Ask the school before choosing when and where to take the test.

What does “not published” mean?

“Not published” means that no numeric minimum was found on the listed pages for the specified programs; it does not mean the test does not matter. Harvard publishes a recommendation rather than a required minimum. INSEAD also publishes a recommended score, not a required minimum. No published minimum does not mean a waiver; requirements vary by program.

emlyon recommends CEFR level C1 for its Master in Management but does not give a score; St. Gallen’s policy for fall 2026 required an English test equivalent to C1 without naming a test or publishing a minimum. SKEMA says no minimum score is required. Harvard gives no minimum but discourages applications below 5 out of 6 or 109 out of 120. For its MBA, Columbia considers the GMAT or GRE Verbal score sufficient; its master’s programs require TOEFL, IELTS, or PTE with no minimum. Kellogg and Wharton list TOEFL without a minimum; Yale does not require it for its MBA; MIT Sloan does not accept TOEFL or IELTS for its three listed programs and assesses English during the interview.

Conversely, many schools waive the test. Stanford may grant a waiver after a degree taught entirely in English and may request an additional test. ESSEC may waive it after three years of higher education entirely in English for an international degree; KEDGE (direct application) after one year of study in English or work experience in an English-speaking country; IE (master’s programs) after two years of living and working in English, subject to the admissions committee’s approval; and Harvard after an undergraduate degree taught entirely in English or a qualifying graduate degree taught in English under its policy. Test waivers are covered in a separate article.

What should you check on your program’s page?

Rather than memorizing a school’s score, record exactly what your program’s page says.

  • The exact program and application route: an AST admissions exam, an English-language master’s, and an MBA may have different rules at the same school.
  • The score, its stated scale (0–120 or 1–6), and its status: required minimum, recommended minimum, or score below which the school discourages applications.
  • The accepted test period: score validity, date window, or a specific rule for tests taken after January 21, 2026.
  • Use “not published” if the page says nothing; do not fill the blank with a score found elsewhere.
  • If your score report uses a different scale from the page, contact the school; it determines how your score is interpreted.

Key takeaways

  • Read TOEFL minimums by application route, not by school: EDHEC lists 92 for AST 2, while emlyon, SKEMA, Grenoble EM, and Audencia list no score for theirs.
  • “100” and “5” are scores on two scales for the same test: since January 21, 2026, ETS has scored on a 1–6 scale and includes a comparable 0–120 score for two years.
  • Schools do not all publish the same pair of scores. Do not convert them yourself; compare scores on the scale stated on the page.
  • No published minimum does not mean a waiver. Recommended scores and tests that are not accepted, as for the three MIT Sloan programs listed, are different situations.
  • ETS sets a two-year validity period; each school sets its own deadline or accepted test window.
Related reading

What’s next?

Upsilar preparation

Upsilar currently prepares four tests.

The platform prepares you for the TAGE MAGE, GMAT, GRE, and TOEIC; the TOEFL has its own guide. The platform is built to add other tests with the same method.